Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Religious History Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

This is a guide to religious organization records, papers of religious leaders, laypeople's diaries, religious periodicals, and other items in the Special Collections Research Center which can be used to study American religious history.

What We Have

Our collections related to religion include:

  • Numerous manuscript church records from the 18th century to the 20th century
  • Substantial collections of the personal papers of ministers and laypeople who were religiously inclined
  • A large collection of Bibles, printed sermons, commentaries, and other religious books, from the 16th century to the 20th century
  • Numerous religious magazines, including an unusual number of 19th-century Unitarian and Universalist magazines

Manuscripts and personal papers are described in the SCRC database.  You can search that using the box to the left.  Published religious works are cataloged in Swem Library's catalog, searchable in the box below. 

Special Collections Search Tools

There are a variety of search tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Search the W&M Libraries Catalog

Special Collections Finding Aid Search