Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian Pacific Islander American Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

This is a guide to manuscripts, books, periodicals, and other materials in the Special Collections Research Center that may be useful for researching or teaching about Asian American history.

Manuscripts

W. H. Wilkinson Records: Records from a San Francisco lawyer who worked with Chinese immigrants from 1919-1939.

Colorado River Relocation Center Scrapbook: This scrapbook of a female employee at the Colorado River Relocation Center in Poston, Arizona includes photographs, a poem, programs, correspondence, and other material. The Colorado River Relocation Center is also known as the Poston Relocation Center and was one of the sites internment camps created for Japanese Americans and Japanese nationals by the U.S. government during World War II.

Scrapbook (Holy Cross Alaska): This scrapbook has photographs and other items relating to the Woo family of Alaska, who were involved with the mission and convent of the Holy Cross, 1916-1922.

Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection: The Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection includes a variety of material in various formats. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. Items of particular interest include anti-Chinese trading cards, postcards, and advertisements.

Manuscripts Artifact Collection: Includes an anti-immigration calliope or flute with Chinese immigrants; silk playbill with an ad for a Japanese store.

Sheet Music Collection: This collection includes sheet music published from the early 19th century forward including some with references to Asians and Asian Americans.

University Archives Oral History Collection: In his 2009 interview, retired William and Mary professor Satoshi Ito discusses a number of experiences from throughout his life including growing up in California, internment during World War II, his education, his career as a professor of sociology at the College of William and Mary, and his activities after retiring from his academic career.

Rare Books

Title: What do Asians want? : a study / by Defense Race Relations Institute.
Publication info.: Fort Eustis, Va. : Reprinted by U.S. Army Transportation Center and Fort Eustis, [1973?]
Physical description: 51 p. ; 26 cm.
Note: Originally published: Patrick Air Force Base, Fla. : Defense Race Relations Institute.
Swem Library, Rare Books E184 .A75 W43 1973

Title: Investigation of un-American propaganda activities in the United States.  Hearings before a Special committee on un-American Activities.  House of Representatives, Seventy-fifth Congress, third session-78th Congress, 2d sess10 as guaranteed by our Constitution, and (3) all other questions in relation thereto that would aid Congress in any necessary remedial legislation.
Publication info.: Washington, U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1938-1944.
Description: This 23-volume set reproduces the text of the hearings before Martin Dies's committee.  It focuses primarily on Japanese-Americans, with some material on German-Americans and Italian-Americans.
Swem Library, Rare Books E473.5 .A4

Access Tools