In 1911 the student newspaper, The Flat Hat, was first published, and since then has announced and documented campus events and reflected student opinion. While not the first student newspaper at William & Mary, it is the longest lived. An index for the William & Mary News, Alumni Gazette, and The Flat Hat is available as a card file in the Special Collections Research Center. All three of these publications are available on microfilm in Swem Library (except for the most recent years) and in paper in the Special Collections Research Center.
the student yearbook of the William & Mary, began publication in 1899. In addition to photographs of individual students, it includes information and photographs of student groups and activities, scenes of campus and the surrounding area, and occasionally administrators and faculty. It is one of many William & Mary publications. The Colonial Echo is available in the Swem Library stacks, Swem Reference, and Special Collections Research Center in Swem Library.
The records of the Filipino American Student Association (FASA) at the College of William & Mary include the student organization's constitution and by-laws, correspondence with students and alumni, meeting minutes, fliers, programs, tickets, and other material typically produced by student groups.
The collection is composed of records of the College of William & Mary student organization the Japanese Cultural Association from 1999 to 2008. The material includes fliers, scrapbooks, programs, meeting minutes, attendance lists, the film The Kuril Island by Evin Haithcock, and other material. Most of the administrative records and the scrapbooks are from the period 2006-2008 with the group's earliest years documented mostly through fliers.
The records of the South Asian Student Association (SASA) at the College of William & Mary include the student organization's fliers, programs, constitution and by-laws, selected correspondence, and other material typically produced by student groups. One of the group's predecessor organizations was the Indian Cultural Association. Activities documented include events of the group, student leadership activities, and similar events.
This collection includes meeting minutes, programs, fliers, and other items commonly produced by student groups. Groups including the Asian and African Society, Asian American Student Conference, Asian Student Council (and the predecessor Asian Student Union), Chinese Students Association, Hindu Students Association, Khmer Student Association, Korean American Student Association, South Asia Society, South-South East Asian Society, and potentially others.
This collection contains fliers, newsletters, clippings, and other publications from the Center for Student Diversity at The College of William & Mary. The office was formerly known as the Office of Multicultural Affairs and the Office of Minority Affairs. Included in the collection are reports created by the various offices, announcements for upcoming events, and newsletters, including "Onyx" and "Ethnic Voices."
These collections include correspondence and other material related to the integration of William & Mary's student body and faculty ranks as well as relations with Williamsburg's African American community.
In his 2009 oral history interview, retired William & Mary professor Satoshi Ito discusses a number of experiences from throughout his life including growing up in California, internment during World War II, his education, his career as a professor of sociology at the College of William & Mary, and his activities after retiring from his academic career. Ito's 2005 oral history interview, which focused on the founding of the Black Studies program at W&M, was for the "Stony the Road We Trod," which was an independent study project conducted by William & Mary student Jenay Jackson '05. This oral history project was intended to serve as the initial part of an ongoing project to document African American history at the William & Mary. Ms. Jackson interviewed university administrators, faculty, and alumni.