Williamsburg - Related Collections in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in its Manuscript, Rare Books, and University Archives sections that relate Williamsburg, Virginia. Some of these collections are specifically about the experiences of Williamsburg residents, while others deal more broadly with the Hampton Roads region. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, magazines, government documents, published memoirs, etc.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of interest to researchers including:

• Genealogy Resources at Swem Library
• College of William and Mary
• Research Paper Writing and Citation Guide
• Primary Sources Guide
• Copyright Guide.

Past and current exhibits may also be of interest and information is available at Swem's Exhibits page. Exhibits of particular interest include:

• A "Most Thriving and Growing Place": Williamsburg Before the Restoration
• From the 'Burg to Berlin and Beyond: World War II at Swem Library on display in the Nancy Marshall Gallery and the Special Collections Research Center in Swem Library in 2008. The audio recording of an exhibit tour by the exhibit's curator Dr. Beatriz Hardy, Marian and Alan McLeod Director of the Special Collections Research Center, is available.

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us.  We're here to help.  Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Best of luck with your research!