Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Williamsburg - Related Collections in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center in Swem Library has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books about Williamsburg, Virginia. This guide describes the bulk of those manuscripts and archives holdings, although it is not a comprehensive list.

Williamsburg Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in its Manuscript, Rare Books, and University Archives sections that relate Williamsburg, Virginia. Some of these collections are specifically about the experiences of Williamsburg residents, while others deal more broadly with the Hampton Roads region. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, magazines, government documents, published memoirs, etc.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of interest to researchers including:

Past and current exhibits may also be of interest and information is available at Swem's Exhibits page. Exhibits of particular interest include:

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us.  We're here to help.  Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Best of luck with your research! 

Special Collections Finding Aid Search