English Research Guide

Web home for the major professional association of academic teachers of language and literature.

Full text, open access repository for work in the Humanities

Federal government support for the humanities through grants, fellowships, and projects.

A collection of full text reference, poetry, fiction, and nonfiction books

Covers the life, times, and work of Charles Dickens and creating opportunities for collaborative research

Includes criticism, translations, sources, and other resources. Discussion forum limited to Harvard students.

Open access online project which brings together video clips, articles, and commentary on Shakespeare from around the world.

A series of collections on various literature and poetry topics such as Walt Whitman papers and poets reading from their work

Primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture from 17th century to 1924

Information on poems, poets, poetry prizes, poetry movements, and more.

Scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic period literature and culture

Called the "most important free site for Middle English literary studies." Browse or read Middle English texts. Omits widely available texts of Chaucer and Langland

A collection of resources on U.S. poets laureate from 1986 and on Consultants in Poetry from 1937

Scholarly website devoted to the study of literature, history, and culture in the age of Victoria

A collection of online resources in the humanities, including sections on Literature (in English), Literatures (Other than English), and Literary Theory. Maintained by Alan Liu at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Searchable database of all editions of Leaves of Grass plus much more.

Covers biographical and critical material relating to Faulkner's life and work. Considered by some as the Internet's most exemplary Faulkner site

Explore plays written by Shakespeare's contemporaries that were performed between 1576 and 1642. Search by genre, company or theater.