Research Guides: Sociology: Sociology & the Media: TRANSCRIPTS/CLIPS/BLOGS

LIBRARY DATABASES WITH NEWS TRANSCRIPTS

LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Contains over 500 U.S. newspapers (ex. USA Today, Washington Post) and 700 international newspapers (ex. Toronto Star, Manila Times). Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

Finding News Articles, Transcripts, & Blogs using LexisNexis Academic

The library database Lexis Nexis Academic provides a way to search for news transcripts and blogs by keyword and date. This document provides step-by-step instructions.

Finding Transcripts & Video Clips

1. Internet Archive's Television News archive (from 2009 - present): http://archive.org/details/tv

2. Go to a specific show's homepage and search for transcripts. Many show homepages also have ways to search the transcripts by subject/topic.

Examples:

Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) NewsHour http://www.pbs.org/newshour/

National Public Radio (NPR) http://www.npr.org/

CNN (Cable News Network) http://www.cnn.com/

"Saturday Night Live" http://snltranscripts.jr.org

"Daily Show" http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/

"Fox News" http://www.foxnews.com/

C-SPAN: videos, podcasts, etc., about Congress, the Executive Branch, and politics
C-SPAN videos: http://www.c-spanvideo.org/videoLibrary/
Vanderbirl (University) Television News Archive
Ohio University's webpage that gives great information on finding transcripts and clips
University of Chicago's webpage with links for finding transcripts and clips
Zimmerman's Research Guide for TV and Radio Transcripts
Youtube
for clips
Open Video Project
collection of older (mostly mid-20th century) short films/documentaries about many topics, including many that would provide a sociological perspective on topics such as women, immigration, etc. Allows you to search by topic, length and type of film, language, etc.
Google Video
click on Video --> then click on Advanced Video Search
Internet Archive
stores "snapshots" of webpages from previous years PLUS has a moving image archive, an audio archive, and more!
Internet Moving Image Archive
a portion of the Internet Archive, this provides access to thousands of feature and documentary films, including cartoons, newsreels, advertisements, propaganda, etc.