Research Guides: Sociology: Sociology & the Media: MAGAZINES & JOURNALS--including COVERS

FIND POPULAR MAGAZINE ARTICLES

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary. 1,700 magazines (such as news magazines and other popular magazines), newspapers, and some scholarly journals and reference books. Those magazines, newspapers, and journals contain secondary articles as well as 160,000+ primary source documents (such as interviews, speeches, letters, laws, case studies, poems, short stories, and more) and almost 600,000 images (photographs, charts, graphs, maps, and more). Coverage: varies by title.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
All disciplines. Citations to magazine articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the US. Coverage: 1890-1982.

FIND SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Some cited references are included. Coverage: 1952-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

FIND MAGAZINE COVER STORIES

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On the Advanced Search screen, use the Cover Story option.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title. To find cover stories, try searching for the phrase "cover story."

FIND MAGAZINE COVERS

Time Cover Archive
Includes a "Search Magazine Covers" options. Covers 1923 to present.
Newsweek Archive
Covers from May 2013 to present.
People magazine's cover archive
Covers back to the 1970s; grouped by broad categories but also a search box.
Scouting magazine's cover archives
From 1910s to present; includes a search box.
Magazine Art
Vintage magazine covers (from 19th century and early 20th century).
Newseum's newspaper front pages archive for major news events
Rolling Stone magazine's Coverwall

CONTENT ANALYSIS -- EXAMPLES

Example magazine cover content analysis articles found in the databases Academic Search Complete, Communication & Mass Media, and Sociological Abstracts, using this search strategy:

"magazine covers"

AND

"content analysis"

Hatton, E., & Trautner, M. N. (2011). Equal opportunity objectification? the sexualization of men and women on the cover of rolling stone. Sexuality & Culture, 15(3), 256-278. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s12119-011-9093-2

Hatton, E., & Trautner, M. N. (2013). Images of powerful women in the age of 'choice feminism'. Journal of Gender Studies, 22(1), 65-78. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/09589236.2012.681184

Hunter, K. M., Lewis, J., & Overton, J. E. (2013). My Eyes Adored You: A Content Analysis of Newsmagazine Cover Images in the 2008 U.S. Presidential Election Campaign. Ohio Communication Journal, 51277-301.

Kang, I., & Heo, K. (2006). Framing the Enemy: A Proxemic Analysis of U.S. News Magazine Cover Photographs. Conference Papers -- International Communication Association, 1-17.

Malkin, A. R., Wornian, K., & Chrisler, J. C. (1999). Women and weight: Gendered messages on magazine covers. Sex Roles, 40(7-8), 647-655. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/60088485?accountid=15053

Meisner, M. S., & Takahashi, B. (2013). The Nature of Time : How the Covers of the World's Most Widely Read Weekly News Magazine Visualize Environmental Affairs. Environmental Communication, 7(2), 255-276. doi:10.1080/17524032.2013.772908

Primm, E., DuBois, S., & Regoli, R. (2007). Every Picture Tells a Story: Racial Representation on Sports Illustrated Covers. Journal Of American Culture, 30(2), 222-231. doi:10.1111/j.1542-734X.2007.00511.x

Rodrigues Cardoso, C. (2010). The Future of Newsmagazines. Journalism Studies, 11(4), 577-586. doi:10.1080/14616701003638467

Weber, J. D., & Carini, R. M. (2013). Where are the female athletes in Sports Illustrated? A content analysis of covers (2000–2011). International Review For The Sociology Of Sport, 48(2), 196-203. doi:10.1177/1012690211434230

ADDITIONAL CONTENT ANALYSIS STUDIES, found via the web: