Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

PRIMARY SOURCES

    Books of letters, diaries, autobiography, plus government documents:

• Library Catalog:  start at swem.wm.edu, then click Catalog; then select Advanced Search.  PLEASE SEE THE BOX BELOW WITH EXAMPLES FOR SEARCHING OUR LIBRARY CATALOG TO FIND PRIMARY SOURCES.

• Gender & Sexuality Resources in Swem Library’s Special Collections

    Documents, newspaper articles, and more via Swem Library databases:

• Women and Social Movements in the U. S., 1600-2000
• Archives Unbound -- a package of primary source materials on many topics, including papers and correspondence about LGBT leaders, Indians of North America (including the American Indian Movement and radicalism; 19th century missionaries' lettersm; and more), feminism in Cuba, the federal response to 1960s radicalism, Freedom Riders, Japanese-American relocation centers during World War II, integration of the University of Mississippi, Jewish emigration, culture of Appalachian mountain people, and more.
• American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1940
• America’s Historical Imprints
• Databases with current newspapers
• New York Times; Washington Post; other separate newspaper databases      

For more primary sources databases, visit swem.wm.edu, then choose Library Databases, and then choose categories such as History, News, Art, Music, etc.

    Films via Swem Library databases:

• Films on Demand
• American History in Video
• Kanopy Streaming Video

    Websites – just a few possibilities:

• Discovering American Women’s History Online  http://digital.mtsu.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/women
• American Memory: American Women (Library of Congress)   http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
• Documenting the American South  http://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html
• Experiencing War (Library of Congress)   http://www.loc.gov/vets/stories/
• American Women’s History: Civil Rights http://capone.mtsu.edu/kmiddlet/history/women/wh-civil.html
• Women in World History   http://chnm.gmu.edu/wwh/index.php
• United Nations -- World's Women -- report and data -- 2015 edition -- Chapter 6 is "Violence Against Women"
• United Nations -- Sustainable Development Goals -- Goal 5 -- Gender Equality
• United Nations’ “Women, Peace, & Security” http://www.un.org/en/globalissues/women/peace.shtml
• For additional website suggestions: Gender, Sexuality, & Women’s Studies Research Guide [ http://guides.swem.wm.edu/genderstudies ] and click the Primary Sources tab

    Statistics

• Human Rights Watch --> Topics --> Women's Rights --> Explore Women's Rights --> Domestic Violence
• World Bank's Gender Data Portal
• National Coalition Against Domestic Violence 

1.  Example of a broad library catalog search:

violence OR abuse OR abused OR abusive

AND

gender OR women* OR men OR gays OR lesbians OR transgender* OR bisexual* OR sex*

AND

sources OR biography OR narrative* OR correspondence OR diar*

2.  Examples of more specific library catalog searches -- note the Subjects assigned to these titles such as:

Family violence

Abused women

Women and war

Freedom Riders:  notice that one subject heading is just Freedom Rides (not Riders):

Indians of North America AND women AND violence -- a couple of examples:

India AND women AND (violence OR crim* OR rape OR abus*) -- a few possible titles, including films and congressional hearings:

Example of primary sources about a particular individual who experienced gender violence:

Examples of books about men/masculinity and violence, both as perpetrators and victims:

Prevalence and Characteristics of Sexual Violence, Stalking, and Intimate Partner Violence Victimization: National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey 2011

National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey: 2010 Summary Report
(National Center for Injury Prevention and Control of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)

Intimate Partner Violence, Sexual Violence, & Stalking:  Basic Facts from 2010 Survey (above)

WomenStats

• Research and Papers
  
• Database -- contains statistics about women on many issues; create a free account to access; but difficult to use.
  
  

Gender Statistics (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe [UNECE])

Immigrant Women and Sexual Violence (National Online Resource Center on Violence Against Women)

Rape and Sexual Assault Victimization Among College-Age Females, 1995-2013
(U. S. Department of Justice)

Nonfatal Domestic Violence, 2003-2012
(U. S. Department of Justice)

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence--Statistics
Scroll to see additional sources.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and HIV-Affected Intimate Partner Violence in 2012
(National Coalition of Anti-Violence Programs)

Hate Crimes and Violence against Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People (Human Rights Campaign, 2009)