Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Mary Kosut (Editor)The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media by Karen RossThe Handbook of Gender, Sex and Media offers original insights into the complex set of relations which exist between gender, sex, sexualities and the media, and in doing so, showcases new research at the forefront of media and communication practice and theory. Brings together a collection of new, cutting-edge research exploring a number of different facets of the broad relationship between gender and media Moves beyond associating gender with man/woman and instead considers the relationship between the construction of gender norms, biological sex and the mediation of sex and sexuality Offers genuinely new insights into the complicated and complex set of relations which exist between gender, sex, sexualities and the media Essay topics range from the continuing sexism of TV advertising to ways in which the internet is facilitating the (re)invention of our sexual selves.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
Handbook of Gender, Work and Organization by Emma Jeanes (Editor); David Knights (Editor); Patricia Yancey Martin (Editor)This work of reference represents a remarkably complete, detailed and extensive review of the field of gender, work and organization in the second decade of the 21st century. Its authors represent eight countries and many disciplines including management, sociology, political science, and gender studies. The chapters, by top scholars in their areas of expertise, offer both reviews and empirical findings, and insights and challenges for further work. The chapters are organized in five sections: Histories and Philosophies; Organizing Work and the Gendered Organization; Embodiment; Globalization; and Diversity. Theoretical and conceptual developments at the cutting edge of the field are explicated and illustrated by the handbook's authors. Methods for conducting research into gender, work and organization are reviewed and assessed as well as illustrated in the work of several chapters. Efforts to produce greater gender equality in the workplace are covered in nearly every chapter, in terms of past successes and failures. Military organizations are presented as one of the difficult to change in regards to gender (with the result that women are marginalized in practice even when official policies and goals require their full inclusion). The role of the body/embodiment is emphasized in several chapters, with attention both to how organizations discipline bodies and how organizational members use their bodies to gain advantage. Particular attention is paid to sexuality in/and organizations, including sexual harassment, policies to alleviate bias, and the likelihood that future work will pay more attention to the body's presence and role in work and organizations. Many chapters also address "change efforts" that have been employed by individuals, groups, and organizations, including transnational ones such as the European Union, the United Nations, and so on. In addition to its value for teachers and students within this field, it also offers insights that would be of value to policy makers and practitioners who need to reflect on the latest thinking relating to gender at work and in organizations.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay-Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
Gender and Fraternal Orders in Europe, 1300-2000 by Máire Fedelma CrossWhat have medieval nuns, parrot shooting, Freemasonry, and Shetland revelry got in common? This study of monastic orders, guilds, Freemasonry and friendly societies over centuries and across frontiers provides new insights into their contribution to the gendering of public space and the evolution of 'separate spheres' in Europe.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi O'Brien (Editor)2009 RUSA Outstanding Reference CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-11-26
Handbook of Sexual and Gender Identity Disorders by David L. Rowland; Luca IncrocciComplete coverage of The Handbook of Sexual and Gender Identity Disorders provides authoritative coverage of the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of three major DSM-IV-TR classifications of sexual disorders and gender identity disorders: sexual dysfunctions, gender identity disorders, and paraphilias/atypical sexual behaviors. The first internationally contributed handbook of its kind, this practical guide provides mental health professionals as well as medical professionals with the latest information in the understanding and treatment of sexual problems and gender identity related disorders. Covering both the medical and mental health related aspects of sexual dysfunctions and gender identity disorders, topics covered include: * Male sexual arousal disorder * Female desire disorder * Female genital pain and its treatment * Aging and sexuality * Disease and sexuality * Gender identity disorders in adults * Cross-cultural issues in gender identity disorders * Paraphilic sexual disorders * Sexual addiction * Legal and privacy issues surrounding paraphilias An insightful and unique resource, the Handbook of Sexual and Gender Identity Disorders prepares mental health and medical professionals to more skillfully and compassionately recognize and address the sexual issues of those who seek their help.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
American Masculinities by Bret E. Carroll (Editor)American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia explores the wide range of identities and experiences that have defined men and masculinity in the United States from pre-Columbian times to the present. The first reference work devoted to this scholarly field, it draws on important contemporary research in history, gender and sexuality studies, and cultural and literary studies. The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and a list of other articles with additional information on a topic.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae; Dale SpenderFor a full list of entries and contributors, sample entries, and more, visit the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women website. Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Womenbrings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-04-16
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality by Wayne R. Dynes (Editor)First published in 1990, The Encyclopedia of Homosexualitybrings together a collection of outstanding articles that were, at the time of this book's original publication, classic, pioneering, and recent. Together, the two volumes provide scholarship on male and female homosexuality and bisexuality, and, reaching beyond questions of physical sexuality, they examine the effects of homophilia and homophobia on literature, art, religion, science, law, philosophy, society, and history. Many of the writings were considered to be controversial, and often contradictory, at that time, and refer to issues and difficulties that still exist today. This volume contains entries from A-L.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Find Reference Books in Swem
Boy Culture by Michael Kehler (Editor); Shirley R. Steinberg (Editor); Lindsay Cornish (Editor); Richard MunsonIn this two-volume set, a series of expert contributors look at what it means to be a boy growing up in North America, with entries covering everything from toys and games, friends and family, and psychological and social development. * 166 entries on specific aspects of boyhood life in North America today, ranging from boy-centered toys, games, and media to issues of masculinity and confusing notions of manhood * Expert contributors from a variety of academic and professional disciplines, providing insight into a range of issues related to the lives of North American boys * Bibliographic listings of works cited and further reading in print and online * A comprehensive index
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities by Michael Flood (Editor); Judith Kegan Gardiner (Editor); Bob Pease (Editor); Keith Pringle (Editor)The International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinitiesoffers a comprehensive guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world. The Encyclopedia's coverage is comprehensive across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations. The Encyclopedia: examines every area of men's personal and social lives as shaped by gender covers masculinity politics, the men's groups and movements that have tried to change men's roles presents entries on working with particular groups of boys or men, from male patients to men in prison incorporates cross-disciplinary perspectives on and examinations of men, gender and gender relations gives comprehensive coverage of diverse cultural and historical formations of masculinity and the bodies of scholarship that have documented them. The Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities is composed of over 350 free-standing entries written from their individual perspectives by eminent scholars in their fields. Entries are organized alphabetically for general ease of access but also listed thematically at the front of the encyclopedia, for the convenience of readers with specific areas of interest.
Men and Masculinities by Michael S. Kimmel; Amy AronsonThe first encyclopedia to analyze, summarize, and explain the complexities of men's lives and the idea of modern manhood. * Nearly 400 A-Z entries from aging and intimacy to puberty and Westerns * Cross-references in each entry to other relevant entries * An impressive list of contributors including many of the world's premier scholars * Illustrations of key historical events, people, and ideas that enhance understanding of the material
Chronology of Women Worldwide by Lynne BrakemanThis work focuses on the key international happenings throughout the ages, with particular emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries. It includes women's achievements in specific areas such as the arts, transportation and science. Brief biographies of important individuals are also included.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Lynn Walter (Editor-In-Chief); Amy Lind; Manisha Desai; Cheryl Toronto Kalny; Bahira Sherif-Trask; Aili Mari TrippWomen are working internationally to build a world based on gender equality and justice. Their concerns are shaped by conditions in their own countries and regions, and also by conditions for women in other parts of the world. Links forged by globalization, international relations, United Nations gender equality and development programs, and women's nongovernmental organizations connect their futures. This groundbreaking reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing distortion-free and newly available information about women's status, in matters from education to violence, in more than 130 countries in the world's most populated areas. Written by an international host of contributing specialists, this set is accessible to high school students and above. Its consistent narrative coverage and relevant statistics are ideal for research and comparisons. Readers will find that conceptions of women's issues vary by country as the set illuminates diverse perspectives and contemporary practices that shape the variations in equality and well-being among women. Judicious inclusion of historical processes helps frame the issues in a holistic perspective. Volume maps, individual country maps, tables, photos, and indexes by set and volume are also included.
Historical Dictionary of Feminism by Janet K. Boles; Diane Long HoevelerThis Second Edition is an essential resource for librarians, scholars, and students. This succinct handbook includes more than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement, 75 percent of which are new and revised from the first edition. This second edition also features a more internationally focused introduction that provides an overview of the history and development of feminism as a movement and as a philosophy. Rounding out this new edition are an expanded chronology, and an updated bibliography that brings attention to many feminist online resources and periodicals, and emphasizes global and third-wave feminism, both new developments in the field since the publication of the first edition. Paying tribute to the struggles of the women, and men, who have worked to change and to improve the living conditions for women in the world, this book promises a comprehensive historical overview for readers of all interest levels.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.