Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and the full-text of The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
Tips for Finding Articles
Be sure to start in the correct subject database.
America: History & Life is excellent for US history
Historical Abstracts is excellent for non US history
Black Studies Center is multi-disciplinary and will cover contemporary issues
Be sure to use boolean.
Be sure to use limiters in the databases.
Start with keyword search but pay attention to suggested subject headings. (Example)
Do not limit to full text only.
Pay attention to publication date.
Keep it simple!Only use 2 or 3 search terms, don't go overboard.
If your interested in the Historical role of the Church & religion in the African American family, keep it simple with basic keywords:
("African American families" OR "black families") AND (religion OR church*)
Subject headings of interest
These are all subject headings that will help narrow your searches
