Research Guides: HIST 211: The Early Modern Atlantic World (Fall 2022): Exercise: Different Database, Different Content

Why we have so many databases

Each of our primary source databases contain different types of materials, and they have different geographic, chronological, and thematic foci.

In small groups, search the term "salt trade" in the following databases. When possible, limit the results to pre-1776 publications. Consider:

How many results are there?
what types of material are reflected in the results?
Was this a good database for my search?

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works and print matter about North, Central, and South America. Documents also cover the Caribbean and the Atlantic World. Coverage: 1500-1926.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. Access: Modules 1 - 5
America's Historical Newspapers (includes Early American Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.

Main library catalog (first earliest publication)
This search only yields results back to 1794

Importance of changing keywords

Using Sabin again, still limiting to pre 1776, search just salt instead of "salt trade"

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works and print matter about North, Central, and South America. Documents also cover the Caribbean and the Atlantic World. Coverage: 1500-1926.

Using the main catalog again, search Salt AND trade, and set publication date to 1500 to 1776.
See how the slight change in wording changes the results.

Search Salt AND trade this time