Research Guides: HIST 211: The Early Modern Atlantic World (Fall 2022): How to find Articles (Secondary Source)

Finding Articles

The Libraries have a LOT of e-journal subscriptions and hundreds of databases designed to help you find them. You can use PRIMO, the main catalog, to find interesting secondary sources (like articles!). For specialized US history topics, you may want to try America: History and Life. Both work in a similar manner.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.

PRIMO (Library catalog)
Very good multi-disciplinary database.
Pro: it searches almost everything we own, so you always get results.
Con: it searches almost everything we own, so you get a lot of unrelated results.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Let's try searches

Just to get started, let's try "atlantic" or "atlantic world" in America: history & life or Historical Abstracts.
Pay attention to keywords suggested by the database.
Also remember, we already know Atlantic Ocean Region work as a subject search.