Research Guides: [OLD] HIST 490: Migration in Modern Europe: Government Documents

Introduction

Governmental documents can provide insight into decisions behind immigration policies and law. The following resources provide access to treaties, hearings, laws, and memos.

Government Document Databases

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1952, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (1715 to Present) This link opens in a new window
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today. Also, ProQuest has partnered with the National Library of Scotland to create the very first digitised collection of 19th Century House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, providing online access to previously unseen and valuable historical documents.
Documents on British Policy Overseas This link opens in a new window
Provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.
Includes: British Documents On The Origins Of The War 1898-1914 ; Collected Diplomatic Documents Relating To The Outbreak Of The European War (1915) ; Documents On British Foreign Policy 1919-1939 ; Documents On British Policy Overseas
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from 1900 to within the current decade. The types of declassified documents include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Coverage: 1900-2008.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window
Resettlement of refugees from Europe during the Nazi era. Memoranda, records, government documents, correspondence, and other files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1938-1948.
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Records of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees, 1938-1947.