Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 490: Migration in Modern Europe

The HIST 490: Migration in Modern Europe guide contains recommendations for secondary and primary source databases and related resources.

Begin Your Research

Use the HIST 490: Migration in Modern Europe guide to locate library databases, books, journals, and web sources to help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research papers.

  • Reference Resources: Use reference materials like encyclopedias to learn more about events, people, and other information. 
  • Newspapers: A selection of historical newspapers from around the world.
  • Primary Source Databases: Manuscripts, images, personal narratives, and other primary sources about 19th and 20th century migrations, diasporas, culture, politics and economics.
  • Secondary Source Databases: Find scholarly articles and book reviews on your topic from library databases.
  • Open Digital Archives: Images, videos, personal narratives, maps, manuscripts and other documents made freely available online from archives around the world focused on Europe and migration.
  • Government Documents & Treaties: Government documents, including declassified reports and memos, treaties, hearings, reports and more from the United States, United Kingdom and the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees. 
  • Help with Citing: Information on using Zotero for in-text citing and creating bibliographies.