GEOL 321: Rock Forming Minerals

The largest mineral database and mineralogical reference website on the internet; includes blogs by users and links to mineral dealers.

"MINABS Online provides a unique research tool for researchers working in the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy, and related topics. The database – which contains more than 120,000 abstracts of papers published between 1982 and 2008 – originated from the paper journal Mineralogical Abstracts, a publication of the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland. No new abstracts were added to the database after 2008.

MINABS Online was first published on the Internet in 2003 and is provided free of charge as a service of the Mineralogical Society. The abstracts are also included in the GeoRef database."

USGS National Minerals Information Center - key resource for geological and mineral informaiton. See their publications at https://www.usgs.gov/centers/national-minerals-information-center/publications

Descriptions, images, and crystallography for more than 4,000 minerals. Includes audio for mineral names.

Publishes American Mineralogost (which we subscribe to via GeoScienceWorld) and mineral-related links on website provide links to datbases like AM Crystal Structure Database and other mineralogy and petrology resources

Annual review of minerals industry of the U.S. and foreign countries

"The Mineralogical & Geological Museum at Harvard University (MGMH) is committed to the development and preservation of world-class collections of minerals, rocks, ores, meteorites and gems for research, education, and public display."

"The USGS Mineral Resources Program (MRP) delivers unbiased science and information to increase understanding of ore formation, undiscovered mineral resource potential, production, consumption, and how minerals interact with the environment. MRP supports data collection and research on a wide variety of non-fuel mineral resources that are important to the Nation’s economic and national security."

"The Critical Minerals Mapping Initiative (CMMI) Portal is a free interactive mapping tool designed to share outputs from the geoscientific collaboration between Geoscience Australia (GA), the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) and the United States Geological Survey (USGS). Focused on building a diversified critical minerals industry in Australia, Canada, and the United States, the CMMI is developing a better understanding of:

known critical mineral resources.
geologic controls on critical mineral distribution for deposits currently producing by-products.
how to infer new sources of supply through critical mineral potential mapping and quantitative mineral assessments."

Integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals

USGS resources - Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global analysis.

"This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation."

"A comprehensive collection of published analyses of igneous and metamorphic rocks and minerals. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. Metadata include geospatial and other sample information, analytical details and references."

Includes Dodd Frank Conflict Materials reports