Research Guides: GEOL 321: Rock Forming Minerals: Research Tools

Databases for Articles and More

The following databases will likely be the most helpful to you in your geology research. Please be sure to ask if you need help navigating any of these resources!

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geology and geosciences of North America and the world. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present for North America, 1933-present for the rest of the world.
GeoScience World This link opens in a new window
Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes GSA Special Papers full-text. Coverage: Varies by title.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, etc. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.
Environmental Science Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. Coverage: 1960 - current
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human impact on the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Citations to scholarly and general interest journal articles, government documents, and reports. Coverage: 1913-present.

Paleobiology Database
The Paleobiology Database is an international scientific organization run by paleontological researchers from many institutions that brings together taxonomic and distributional information about the entire fossil record of plants and animals.
more...less...
The Database currently includes nine main tables: published references, taxonomic names, taxonomic synonymies and classifications, primary collection data, taxonomic occurrences, reidentifications of occurrences, and three tables describing geological time scales. Additional scientific tables track ecological and taphonomic attributes of higher taxa and species, measurements of specimens, and data about the digital fossil images on the site.

Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All aspects of agriculture and related fields. Citations to journal articles, books, technical reports, proceedings, etc. Coverage; 1970-present.

GEOL 321: Rock Forming Minerals

Dissertations and Theses

Preprint Servers

Databases for Articles and More