Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Botany and Gardening Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

This is a guide to the rare books, periodicals, and manuscripts for the study of botany, horticulture, flowers, gardens, and gardening in the Special Collections Research Center.

Introduction to the SCRC's resources for the Study of Botany and Gardening

Our collections of seedsmans' catalogs, Curtis's Botanical Magazine, rare books, and garden club records are particularly outstanding.  However, the list of resources in this guide is not comprehensive.  The SCRC has additional books and manuscripts that refer to botany, flowers, or gardening, although their content is not as focused as what is described here.  In addition, the SCRC has many other collections that include some items relating to agriculture and forestry/lumbering.  See:

A Guide to Natural Resources and Agriculture in the Special Collections Research Center

Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, magazines, government documents, scientific studies, etc. 

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here to help. Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of interest to researchers including a Research Paper Writing and Citation Guide, Primary Sources Guide, and Copyright Guide.

Best of luck with your research!

 

Special Collections Finding Aid Search

 

Useful Subject Headings

  • garden
  • flower
  • landscap (this will capture both landscape and landscaping)
  • botan (this will capture both botany and botanical)