Digital Humanities Workshops: Lessons Learned
by
Digital Humanities Workshops is the first volume to focus explicitly on the most common and accessible kind of training in digital humanities (DH): workshops.
Drawing together the experiences and expertise of dozens of scholars and practitioners from a variety of disciplines and geographical contexts, the chapters in this collection examine the development, deployment, and assessment of a workshop or workshop series. In the first section, "Where?", the authors seek to situate digital humanities workshops within local, regional, and national contexts. The second section, "Who?", guides readers through questions of audience in relation to digital humanities workshops. In the third and final section, "How?", authors explore the mechanics of such workshops. Taken together, the chapters in this volume answer the important question: why are digital humanities workshops so important and what is their present and future role?
Digital Humanities Workshops examines a range of digital humanities workshops and highlights audiences, resources, and impact. This volume will appeal to academics, researchers and postgraduate students, as well as professionals working in the DH field.
Quick Hits for Teaching with Digital Humanities
by
Quick Hits for Teaching with Digital Humanities: Successful Strategies from Award-Winning Teachers is an edited collection of 24 articles that aims to introduce faculty, administrators, and staff to ways in which digital techniques from the arts, humanities, and social sciences can be incorporated in the classroom. These techniques can enhance learning and professional development experiences for undergraduate and graduate students and faculty alike. This essential handbook illustrates the breadth of digital humanities across the disciplines with rich examples that bring best practices to life. Anyone who teaches at an institution of higher learning will find entry into new digital paradigms. As the authors share simple and complex ways to introduce digital humanities into the classroom, they expand understandings of what constitutes these current technologies for learning.
The Digital Humanities Coursebook
by
The Digital Humanities Coursebook provides critical frameworks for the application of digital humanities tools and platforms, which have become an integral part of work across a wide range of disciplines. Written by an expert with twenty years of experience in this field, the book is focused on the principles and fundamental concepts for application, rather than on specific tools or platforms. Each chapter contains examples of projects, tools, or platforms that demonstrate these principles in action. The book is structured to complement courses on digital humanities and provides a series of modules, each of which is organized around a set of concerns and topics, thought experiments and questions, as well as specific discussions of the ways in which tools and platforms work. The book covers a wide range of topics and clearly details how to integrate the acquisition of expertise in data, metadata, classification, interface, visualization, network analysis, topic modeling, data mining, mapping, and web presentation with issues in intellectual property, sustainability, privacy, and the ethical use of information. Written in an accessible and engaging manner, The Digital Humanities Coursebook will be a useful guide for anyone teaching or studying a course in the areas of digital humanities, library and information science, English, or computer science. The book will provide a framework for direct engagement with digital humanities and, as such, should be of interest to others working across the humanities as well.
Using Digital Humanities in the Classroom
by
Rooted in the day-to-day experience of teaching and written for those without specialist technical knowledge, this is a new edition of the go-to guide to using digital tools and resources in the humanities classroom. In response to the rapidly changing nature of the field, this new edition has been updated throughout and now features: - A brand-new Preface accounting for new developments in the broader field of DH pedagogy - New chapters on 'Collaborating' and on 'Teaching in a Digital Classroom' - New sections on collaborating with other teachers; teaching students with learning differences; explaining the benefits of digital pedagogy to your students; and advising graduate students about the technologies they need to master - New 'advanced activities' and 'advanced assignment' sections (including bots, vlogging, crowd-sourcing, digital storytelling, web scraping, critical making, automatic text generation, and digital media art) - Expanded chapter bibliographies and over two dozen tables offering practical advice on choosing software programs Accompanied by a streamlined companion website, which has been entirely redesigned to answer commonly asked questions quickly and clearly, this is essential reading for anyone looking to incorporate digital tools and resources into their daily teaching.
Teaching with Digital Humanities
by
Jennifer Travis and Jessica DeSpain present a long-overdue collection of theoretical perspectives and case studies aimed at teaching nineteenth-century American literature using digital humanities tools and methods. Scholars foundational to the development of digital humanities join educators who have made digital methods central to their practices. Together they discuss and illustrate how digital pedagogies deepen student learning. The collection's innovative approach allows the works to be read in any order. Travis and DeSpain curate conversations on the value of project-based, collaborative learning; examples of real-world assignments where students combine close, collaborative, and computational reading; how digital humanities aids in the consideration of marginal texts; the ways in which an ethics of care can help students organize artifacts; and how an activist approach affects debates central to the study of difference in the nineteenth century. A supplemental companion website with substantial appendixes of syllabi and assignments is now available for readers of Teaching with Digital Humanities.
The Big Humanities: Digital Humanities/Digital Laboratories
by
This book provides an accessible introduction to, and overview of, the digital humanities, one of the fastest growing areas of literary studies. Lane takes a unique approach by focusing on the technologies and the new environment in which the digital humanities largely takes place: the digital laboratory. The book provides a brief history of DH, explores and explains the methodologies of past and current DH projects, and offers resources such as detailed case studies and bibliographies. Further, the focus on the digital laboratory space reveals affiliations with the types of research that have traditionally taken place in the sciences, as well as convergences with other fast-growing research spaces, namely innovation labs, fabrication labs, maker spaces, digital media labs, and change labs. The volume highlights the profound transformation of literary studies that is underway, one in which the adoption of powerful technology - and concomitantly being situated within a laboratory environment - is leading to an important re-engagement in the arts and humanities, and a renewed understanding of literary studies in the digital age, as well as a return to large-scale financial investment in humanistic research. It will be useful to students and teachers, as well as administrators and managers in charge of research infrastructure and funding decisions who need an accessible overview of this technological transformation in the humanities. Combining useful detail and an overview of the field, the book will offers accessible entry into this rapidly growing field.
Digital Humanities and Laboratories
by
Digital Humanities and Laboratories explores laboratories dedicated to the study of digital humanities (DH) in a global context and contributes to the expanding body of knowledge about situated DH knowledge production.