References sources provide information about specific people, events, and topics. These can be great sources to help identify effect keywords when searching primary sources, and often provide citations for additional information including other primary or secondary sources.
The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History by
The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History represents an invaluable tool for historians and others in the field of African studies. This collection of essays, produced by some of the finest scholars currently working in the field, provides the latest insights into, and interpretations of,the history of Africa - a continent with a rich and complex past. An understanding of this past is essential to gain perspective on Africa's current challenges, and this accessible and comprehensive volume will allow readers to explore various aspects - political, economic, social, and cultural - ofthe continent's history over the last two hundred years.Since African history first emerged as a serious academic endeavour in the 1950s and 1960s, it has undergone numerous shifts in terms of emphasis and approach, changes brought about by political and economic exigencies and by ideological debates. This multi-faceted Handbook is essential reading foranyone with an interest in those debates, and in Africa and its peoples. While the focus is determinedly historical, anthropology, geography, literary criticism, political science and sociology are all employed in this ground-breaking study of Africa's past.
Colonial Rule in Africa by 
Colonialism by
The most exhaustive reference work available on this critical subject in world history, focusing on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized. "The history of the last 500 years is the history of imperialism," writes editor Melvin Page. In the Americas, as a result of imperialist conquest, disease, famine, and war nearly wiped out a population estimated in the tens of millions. Africa was devastated by the slave trade, an integral part of imperialism from the 1400s to the 1800s. In Asia, even though native populations survived, native political institutions were destroyed. Imperialism also forged the two most important ideologies of the last five centuries_racialism and modern nationalism. In more than 600 essays presented in this three-volume encyclopedia, Page and other leading scholars_historians, political scientists, economists, and sociologists_analyze the origins of imperialism, the many forms it took, and its impact worldwide. They also explore imperialism's bitter legacy: the gross inequities of global wealth and power that divide the former conquerors_primarily Europe, the United States, and Japan_from the people they conquered. 600 entries covering ideologies, religions, theory, geography, imperial nations, colonies, colonized regions, ethnic groups, individuals, and treaties Contributions from an international team of academic experts in history, political science, economics, sociology, and other social sciences A collection of documents representing each imperial power as well as primary sources relating to multiple empires and areas of the world to provide a deeper understanding of the processes of colonialism, which encompassed virtually the entire globe Extensive chronologies of various imperial empires (Austro-Hungarian, Belgian, British, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Ottoman, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Russian, and United States) provide context for the diverse entries
Colonial Governors from the Fifteenth Century to the Present by
The names and years in office of colonial governors from Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden and the United States in in foreign territories. Includes historical background on each colony.
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics by
The study of international relations has changed rapidly in recent years. Firstly as a consequence of major political and economic changenbsp;- the end of the cold war and the fall of communism, the resurgence of nationalism, terrorism and forms of fundamentalism, globalizationnbsp;- and secondly, linked with these developments, because of the vitality of the discipline, with ongoing debates on the fundamental paradigms for the understanding of international relations and the emergence of the perspectives of feminism, postmodernism, constructivism and critical theory. The Routledge Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics provides a unique reference source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the Encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1,000 words, withnbsp;fifty major entries of 5,000 words on core contemporary topics. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading. The whole is comprehensively indexed. There is no other resource of its kind and the Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics will be an extremely valuable addition to all libraries supporting teaching and research in the social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Exploration, 1800 to 1850: A Comprehensive Reference Guide to the History and Literature of Exploration, Travel and Colonization Between the Years 1800 and 1850 by
In 732 major articles, Raymond Howgego's Encyclopedia of Exploration 1800 to 1850 attempts to detail every significant traveller, voyager or expedition that set out during the period. Its indexes provide the names of over 3000 travellers and 1000 ships, while the bibliographies cite more than 10,000 works of reference. Extensive biographical information is included for the travellers themselves, placing every expedition thoroughly in its historical context. The text is fully cross-referenced between articles, whilst every article is supplemented by a comprehensive bibliography of both primary and secondary sources.