Research Guides: HIST 491/LAS 450: Cuban Revolutions: Primary Source Databases

Introduction

The primary source databases listed below are just a small number of those available at W&M Libraries, but are good starting points for research on topics relating to the Cuba and the Cuban Revolutions. When searching primary sources remember to consider the language that would have been used during that time.

Latin America / Cuba Documents

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Materials are scanned from collections held by archives of Casa de les Americas in Havana, Cuba.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. Coverage: 1898-1958.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Contains primary and secondary sources. Coverage: 1936-present.

Worldwide Coverage

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation This link opens in a new window
This collection will provide a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the motivations for conflict and conciliation. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1950s-1990s.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new window
The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Coverage: 1960-1974

Periodicals

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (1918-2015) This link opens in a new window
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major international magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. It also includes publications by the United Nations, UNESCO, and European community. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015