Searching for recent books in the library catalog can get you a decent overview of a topic before jumping into the article literature and can show you useful subject headings to use in future searches. The video below, though made for an earlier version of the catalog, can still give you a refresher on how to search.
Useful subject headings include:
Practical Reliability Data Analysis for Non-Reliability Engineers by
This practical resource presents basic probabilistic and statistical methods or tools used to extract the information from reliability data to make sound decisions. It consolidates and condenses the reliability data analysis methods most often used in everyday practice into an easy-to-follow guide, while also providing a solid foundation from which to explore more complex methods if desired. The book provides mathematical and Excel spreadsheet formulas to estimate parameters and confidence bounds (uncertainty) for the most common probability distributions used in reliability analysis. Several other Excel tools are provided to aid users without access to expensive, dedicated, commercial tools. This book and tools were developed by the authors after many years of teaching the fundamentals of reliability data analysis to a broad range of technical and non-technical military and civilian personnel, making it useful for both novice and experienced engineers.
Stochastic Models in Reliability Engineering by
This book is a collective work by many leading scientists, analysts, mathematicians, and engineers who have been working on the front end of reliability science and engineering. The book covers conventional and contemporary topics in reliability science, which have seen extended research activates in the recent years. Methods presented in this book are real-world examples developed and demonstrating essential reliability and availability improvement for such industrial equipment as medical magnetic resonance inspection (MRI), power systems, traction drives for a search and rescue helicopter, and air conditioning systems. The book presents real case studies of redundant multi-state air conditioning systems for chemical laboratories, covers assessments of reliability and fault tolerance and availability calculations. Goes on to discuss conventional and contemporary topics in reliability engineering and includes degradation, networks and dynamic reliability, resilience and multi-state systems which are relatively new topics to the field.　 The book is targeted to engineers and scientists, graduate and postgraduate students involved in reliability design, analysis and experiments, and applied probability and statistics.
Statistical Methods for Reliability Data by
An authoritative guide to the most recent advances in statistical methods for quantifying reliability Statistical Methods for Reliability Data, Second Edition (SMRD2) is an essential guide to the most widely used and recently developed statistical methods for reliability data analysis and reliability test planning. Written by three experts in the area, SMRD2 updates and extends the long- established statistical techniques and shows how to apply powerful graphical, numerical, and simulation-based methods to a range of applications in reliability. SMRD2 is a comprehensive resource that describes maximum likelihood and Bayesian methods for solving practical problems that arise in product reliability and similar areas of application. SMRD2 illustrates methods with numerous applications and all the data sets are available on the book's website. Also, SMRD2 contains an extensive collection of exercises that will enhance its use as a course textbook. The SMRD2's website contains valuable resources, including R packages, Stan model codes, presentation slides, technical notes, information about commercial software for reliability data analysis, and csv files for the 93 data sets used in the book's examples and exercises. The importance of statistical methods in the area of engineering reliability continues to grow and SMRD2 offers an updated guide for, exploring, modeling, and drawing conclusions from reliability data. SMRD2 features: Contains a wealth of information on modern methods and techniques for reliability data analysis Offers discussions on the practical problem-solving power of various Bayesian inference methods Provides examples of Bayesian data analysis performed using the R interface to the Stan system based on Stan models that are available on the book's website Includes helpful technical-problem and data-analysis exercise sets at the end of every chapter Presents illustrative computer graphics that highlight data, results of analyses, and technical concepts Written for engineers and statisticians in industry and academia, Statistical Methods for Reliability Data, Second Edition offers an authoritative guide to this important topic.
Mathematical Modelling of System Resilience by
Almost all the systems in our world, including technical, social, economic, and environmental systems, are becoming interconnected and increasingly complex, and as such they are vulnerable to various risks. Due to this trend, resilience creation is becoming more important to system managers and decision makers, this to ensure sustained performance. In order to be able to ensure an acceptable sustained performance under such interconnectedness and complexity, resilience creation with a system approach is a requirement. Mathematical modeling based approaches are the most common approach for system resilience creation.Mathematical Modelling of System Resilience covers resilience creation for various system aspects including a functional system of the supply chain, overall supply chain systems; various methodologies for modeling system resilience; satellite-based approach for addressing climate related risks, repair-based approach for sustainable performance of an engineering system, and modeling measures of the reliability for a vertical take-off and landing system. Each of the chapters contributes state of the art research for the relevant resilience related topic covered in the chapter. Technical topics covered in the book include:1. Supply chain risk, vulnerability and disruptions 2. System resilience for containing failures and disruptions3. Resiliency considering frequency and intensities of disasters4. Resilience performance index5. Resiliency of electric Traction system6. Degree of resilience7. Satellite observation and hydrological risk8. Latitude of Resilience9. On-line repair for resilience10. Reliability design for Vertical Takeoff and landing Prototype
Repairable Systems Reliability Analysis by
This book provides an application-oriented framework for reliability modeling and analysis of repairable systems in conjunction with the procurement process of weapon systems and throughput analysis for industries. Most of the reliability literature is directed towards non-repairable systems, that is, systems that fail are discarded or replaced. This book is mainly dedicated towards providing coverage to the reliability modeling and analysis of repairable systems that undergo failure-repair cycles. This unique book provides a comprehensive framework for the modeling and analysis of repairable systems considering both the non-parametric and parametric approaches to deal with their failure data. The book presents MCF based non-parametric approach with several illustrative examples and the generalized renewal process (GRP) based arithmetic reduction of age (ARA) models along with its applications to the systems failure data from the aviation industry. A complete chapter on an integrated framework for procurement process is devoted by utilizing the concepts of multi-criteria decision-making (MCDM) techniques which will of a great assistance to the readers in enhancing the potential of their respective organizations. This book also presents FMEA methods tailored for GRP based repairs. This text has primarily emerged from the industrial experience and research work of the authors. A number of illustrations have been included to make the subject lucid and vivid even to the readers who are relatively new to this area. Besides, various examples have been provided to display the applicability of presented models and methodologies to assist the readers in applying the concepts presented in this book.