Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books dealing with the American Civil War. This guide describes the bulk of those holdings, although it is not a comprehensive list.

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Newspapers and Microfilm

Microform editions listed below are held by Swem Library. Researchers should consult the library catalog for further information and additional titles.

  • Alleganian. 10 May 1864-1 May 1867. Cumberland, Md.
  • American and Commercial Advertiser. June 1861-December 1864, 30 September 1864. Baltimore, Md.
  • American Periodicals III, 1850-1900. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International, 1946. Index: Ref PN 4877 A1 H66. 771 reels.
  • Baltimore American and Commercial Advertiser. January 1858-December 1865. Baltimore, Md. 771 reels.
  • Beaver Dam Baptist Church, Fountain City, Tenn. Minutes, 1802-1959. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention Historical Commission, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865. Sanford, N.C.: NYT Microfilming Corp, 1981. Guide: Ref E 449 B625 1981. 17 reels.
  • Boston Commonwealth. 6 September 1862-30 May 1896. Boston, Mass. Title varies: Commonwealth, September 6, 1862-August 28, 1880. 2 reels.
  • Boston Evening Transcript. January 1858-December 1865 Boston, Mass. 16 reels.
  • Brier Creek Baptist Church, Wilkes County, N.C. Church Records, 1783-1955. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1981. 1 reel.
  • Carmel Baptist Church, Caroline County, Va. Record Book, 1799-1935. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Carolina Spartan. 14 January 1858-8 December 1864; February 1866-1876; 1879-1893. Spartanburg, S.C. 3 reels.
  • Cashie Baptist Church, Windsor, N.C. Record Book, 1791-1924. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Charleston Daily Courier. 10 December 1857-19 Mar. 1866. Charleston, S.C. 13 reels.
  • Chase, Salmon P., 1808-1873. Papers. Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1988. Series: Research Collections in American Politics. 43 reels; Guide: Ref E 415.6 C34.
  • Christian Sun. 12 July 1861, 26 July 1861 - 9 August 1861, 24 - 30 August 1861, 24 January 1862-21 February 1862. Suffolk, Va.
  • Columbus Weekly Enquirer. 3 October 1854-December 1862; 26 August 1863-31 December 1864; 31 August1865-14 October 1866. Columbus, Ga. 2 reels.
  • Confederate States of America. Private and Public Laws of the Confederate States of America, 1862-1864; Statutes at Large of the Confederate States of America, 1864. Filmed by the Virginia State Library and Archives. 1 reel.
  • _____. Treasury Dept. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy no. 500; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 1 reel.
  • _____.War Dept. General Orders of the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General's Office, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. T-782. 1 reel.
  • _____. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General and the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. 410; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 41 reels.
  • _____. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. 409. 34 reels.
  • _____. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-627; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 6 reels.
  • _____. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Quartermaster Department, 1864-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. T-131. 9 reels.
  • _____. Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-474; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 164 reels.
  • _____. Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-469; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 14 reels.
  • _____. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-437; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 151 reels.
  • _____. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. 523; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 2 reels.
  • _____. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-522; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 10 reels.
  • _____. Telegrams Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-618; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 19 reels.
  • _____. Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865. National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy No. M-524; Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 1 reel.
  • Cove Creek Baptist Church, Ashe County, NC. Record Books, 1799-1963. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Cullum, George Washington , 1809-1892. Biographical Register of the Officers and Graduates of the U.S. Military Academy, from 1802 to 1867. New York: James Miller, 1879-1891. (New York: AMS Press Film Service, 197?); Alternate title Biographical Register of the Officers and Graduates of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY. 4 reels.
  • Daily Columbus Enquirer 1861-1864. Columbus, Ga.
  • Daily Evening Bulletin 14 December 1857-23 March 1866. Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Daily Index. 4 July 1865-30 December 1865. Petersburg, Va. 1 reel.
  • Daily Intelligencer. 1859-1865. Wheeling, Va.
  • Daily Journal. 2 January 1860-18 February 1865; 28 Sepember 1865-14 July 1866. Wilmington, N.C. 6 reels.
  • Daily Picayune 1860-1863, 1865. New Orleans, La.
  • Daily Picayune (evening ed.). 1860-1860. New Orleans, La.
  • Daily Richmond Enquirer. 1860-1862. Richmond, Va.
  • Daily Richmond Examiner. 1861-1864, 1866. Richmond, Va.
  • Daily Richmond Whig. January 1861-May 1862. Richmond, Va.
  • Daily Sun. August 1865-October 1866. Columbus, Ga.
  • Democratic Allegenian. 19 January 1857-25 December 1859; 10 May 1864-1 May 1867. Cumberland, Md. 2 reels.
  • Daily Lynchburg Virginian. 1861-1863, May-June 1865. Lynchburg, Va.
  • District of Columbia. Board of Commissioners for the Emancipation of Slaves. Records of the Board of Commissioners for the Emancipation of Slaves in the District of Columbia, 1862-1863. Washington: National Archives, 1963. 6 reels.
  • Dumplin Creek Baptist Church, Jefferson County, Tenn. Church Records, 1791-1938. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Easton's Baptist Church, South Yadkin Association, Rowan county, N.C. Church Records, 1772-1787, 1790-1902. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, n.d. 1 reel.
  • First Baptist Church, Leitchfield, Ky. Minutes, 1804-1959. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1956. 1 reel.
  • First Baptist Church, Whitesburg, Tenn. Church Records, 1785-1892. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1983. 1 reel.
  • Fraser's Magazine. V.1-80; New ser.,v.1-26; February 1830-December 1869; January 1870- October 1882. 20 reels.
  • Freedman. 1864-1869. 1 reel.
  • Freedman's Advocate. 1864-1865. 1 reel.
  • Freedman's Journal. 1865-1866. 1 reel.
  • Garrison Fork Baptist Church, Rutherford County, Tenn. Record Books, 1809-1933. Nashville, Tenn.: Southern Baptist Convention, Historical Commission, 1958.
  • Gate-City Guardian. 12 February-2 March 1861. Atlanta, Ga.
  • Grant, Ulysses Simpson. Pres U. S., 1822-1885. Papers. Washington: Library of Congress, 1964. Series: Presidents' Papers Index; Index: Ref Z 8365.8 U5. 32 reels.
  • Hill's Richmond City Directory, 1861-1880. 2 reels.
  • Jersey Baptist Church, Davidson County, N.C. Records, 1784-1964. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1964. 1 reel.
  • Johnson, Andrew. Pres U. S. 1808-1875. Letters of Applications and Recommendation during the Administrations of Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson, 1861-1869. Washington: National Archives, 1966. Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 53 reels.
  • _____. Papers. Washington: Library of Congress, 1960. Series: Presidents' Papers Index; Guide: Ref Z 663.34 J58. 55 reels.
  • Jordan, Lewis Gernett. Negro Baptist History, U.S.A., 1750-1930. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1930. 1 reel.
  • Kennerly, Sarah Law. Confederate Juvenile Imprints: Children's Books and Periodicals Published in the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms, 1958. Thesis, University of Michigan, 1957. 1 reel.
  • Liberty Baptist Church, Appomattox, Va. Minutes, 1843-1873. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1959. 1 reel.
  • Lincoln, Abraham. Pres, U. S. 1809-1865. Letters of Application and Recommendation during the Administrations of Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson, 1861-1869. Washington: National Archives, 1966. Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office. 53 reels.
  • _____. Papers. Washington: Library of Congress, 1959. Series: Presidents' Papers Index; Guide: Ref Z 8505 U53. 97 reels.
  • Louisiana. Records of the Louisiana State Government, 1850-1888, in the War Department Collection of Confederate Records. Washington.: National Archives, 1961. 24 reels.
  • Lynchburg Daily Virginian. 10 August 1852-31 August 1866 Lynchburg, Va. 14 reels.
  • Lynchburg Virginian. 1863-1865. Lynchburg, Va.
  • Macmillan's Magazine. V.1-92; New series v.1-2; November 1859-October 1905; November 1905-1907. 11 reels.
  • Macon Daily Telegraph. 1 February.1860-30 December 1866. Macon, Ga. 13 reels.
  • Macon Daily Telegraph and Confederate. 1864-1865. Macon, Ga.
  • Memphis Bulletin. 4 July 1862-24 May 1863. Memphis, Tenn.
  • Memphis Daily Appeal. 18 July 1857-11 May 1863; 6 June 1863-3 November 1864 Memphis, Tenn. 13 reels.
  • Memphis Daily Avalanche. 21 January 1861-3 October 1861; 28 January 1862-July 1862; 1 January 1866-2 November 1866. Memphis, Tenn. 4 reels.
  • Memphis Daily Bulletin. 3 July 1862-24 May 1863. Memphis, Tenn.; Title varies: Memphis Daily Morning Bulletin, Memphis Daily Bulletin. 1 reel.
  • Methodist Episcopal Church. General Conference. Journal, 1792-1936. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, n. d. 12 reels.
  • Methodist Episcopal Church, South. General Conference. Journal, 1846-1938. Nashville: n.p., n.d. (Chicago: University of Chicago, n.d.). 7 reels.
  • Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Conference. General Minutes and Yearbook, 1845-1940. Nashville, Tenn.: Methodist Episcopal Ch., n.d.
  • Miller's Cove Baptist Church, Walland, Tenn. Church Records, 1813-1962. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1967.
  • Mobile Daily Register. 17 February 1859- 29 June 1860; 7 June-31 October 1861; 18 January 1862-27 May 1864. Mobile, Ala. Title varies: Mobile Daily Register, Mobile Advertiser and Daily Register, Mobile Daily Advertiser and Register. 5 reels.
  • National Anti-Slavery Standard. 1840-1870. 6 reels.
  • National Era. 1847-1860. 4 reels.
  • National Freedman: A Monthly Journal of the National Freedman's Relief Association. 1865- 1866. 1 reel.
  • New Orleans Bee. 1 January. 1858-30 December 1865 New Orleans, La. 13 reels.
  • New Orleans Commercial Bulletin. 1 January1858-30 July 1862. New Orleans, La. 9 reels.
  • New Orleans Times-Picayune. 15 December 1857- 2 March 1866. New Orleans, La.
  • New York Daily Tribune. 1 July 1857-9 April 1866. New York, NY.
  • New York Herald. January 1858-December 1865. New York, N.Y.. 32 reels.
  • New York Principia. January-March 1866. With Principia, Principia and National Era and National Principia. 2 reels.
  • New York Times. 18 September 1858-present. New York, N.Y. ? reels (still being received).
  • New York Tribune. July 1857-April 1866. New York, N.Y. 28 reels.
  • Norfolk Virginian. December 1865, February 1866. Norfolk, Va.
  • North Carolina. Governor, 1862-1865 (Zebulon B. Vance). Copies of Letters and Telegrams Sent and Received by Governor Zebulon B. Vance of North Carolina, 1862-1865. Washington: National Archives, 1964. 1 reel.
  • North Carolina County Court Minutes, 1712-1868. Raleigh: North Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, Division of Archives and Manuscripts, 1960. 92 reels.
  • Paw Paw Hollow Baptist Church, Sevier County, Tenn. Minutes, 1802-1880. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Petersburg Daily Index Appeal. 1865-1867; 1869-1870; 1881; 1885-1889. Petersburg, Va. 14 reels.
  • Philadelphia Evening Bulletin. 14 December 1857-23 March 1866. Philadelphia, Pa. 30 reels.
  • Philadelphia Public Ledger. 20 February 1857-19 April 1866. Philadelphia, Pa. 14 reels.
  • Poplar Spring Baptist Church, Franklin County, N.C. Record Book, 1788-1877. Nashville, Tenn. Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Principia. 1859-1864. On same reel with Principia and National Era, New York Principia and National Principia. 2 reels.
  • Pungoteague Baptist Church, Accomac County, Va. Church Book, 1833-1956. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1958.
  • Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1985. Ser.A, pt.1, 15 reels; Ser.A, pt.2, 26 reels; Ser.C, pt.1, 8 reels; Ser.F, pt.1, 23 reels; Ser.F, pt.2, 16 reels; Ser. G, pt.2, 45 reels; Ser.J, pt.9, 33 reels. Guide: Ref HD 1471 U5 R43 (4 guides, one for each series).
  • Religious Herald. 7 January 1858-28 March 1867. Richmond, Va. 2 reels.
  • Republic. June 1865. Richmond, Va.
  • Republican Party. National Convention. Official Report of the Proceedings of the Republican National Convention. Washington: Republican National Committee, 1856. (Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1972). 7 reels.
  • Richmond Daily Dispatch. June 1852- June 1884. Richmond, Va. Box labeled Richmond Dispatch. 63 reels.
  • Richmond Daily Whig. Jan. 1860-July 1865. Richmond, Va. 8 reels.
  • Richmond Enquirer. 9 May 1804-8 January 1867. Richmond, Va. 42 reels, with additional 2 reel set.
  • Richmond Examiner. 25 April 1859-15 July 1867. Richmond, Va. Title varies: Daily Richmond Examiner, Richmond Daily Examiner. 4 reels.
  • Richmond Sentinel. 11 March 1863-April 1865; 13 November 1865; 5 December 1865. Richmond, Va. 2 reels.
  • Richmond Whig. 1862-1865. Richmond, Va.
  • Sandy Creek Baptist Association, Franklin County, N.C. Minutes, 1859-1895. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Saturday Review V.1-127; 1857-? 44 reels.
  • Seward, William Henry. Papers. Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications, 1981. Guide: Ref E 415.6 S53 Guide. 198 reels.
  • Shepherdstown Register. 5 January 1856-29 December 1866. Shepherdstown, W. Va. 2 reels.
  • Skewarkey Baptist Church, Martin County, N.C. Record Book, 1786-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1959. 1 reel.
  • Southern Baptist Convention. Index to the Southern Baptist Convention Annuals, 1845-1965. Nashville, Tenn. Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention,1966. 2 reels.
  • Southern Churchman. 22 November 1861-8 March 1865. Richmond, Va.. 1 reel.
  • Southern Confederacy. 4 March 1861-8 February 1865. Atlanta, Ga. Title varies: Gate City Guardian. 6 reels.
  • The Spectator: A Weekly Review of Politics, Literature, Theology, and Art. V. 1-40; 56-91; 106; 110-111; 120-158; July 1828-1867; 1883-1903; 1909; 1913; 1918-June 1937. 68 reels.
  • Spirit of Jefferson. 7 September 1852-31 December 1867. Charles Town, W. Va. 1 reel.
  • State Secession Debates, 1859-1862. New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications, [1976?]. Guide: Ref JK 9671 S42 Guide. 9 reels.
  • Tar River Baptist Association. Record Books, 1831-1890. Nashville, Tenn. Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1958. 1 reel.
  • Travels in the Confederate States. Microform Set. Each title is listed separately in LION but entering Travels in the Confederate States as a title will bring up a listing of each title.
  • True Southerner. November 1865-April 1866. Hampton, Va.
  • United States. Attorney-General. Opinions of the Attorney General, 1817-1932. Washington: National Archives, 1960. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office. 3 reels.
  • United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Records of the Superintendent of Education for the State of Virginia, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870 . Washington: National Archives, 1977. 20 reels.
  • _____. Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau. . . . Washington: National Archives and Records Service, 1968. 74 reels.
  • United States. Congress. The Congressional Globe. 23d Congress to the 42d Congress, Dec. 2, 1833 to March 3, 1873. Washington: Printed at the Globe Office for the Editors, 1834- 1873. Index: Docs Dept J 11 G51 1970. 38 reels.
  • United States. District Court. North Carolina. Confederate Papers, 1861-1865. Washington: National Archives. 1 reel.
  • United States. District Court. Tennessee (Eastern District). Records of the United States Civil Commission at Memphis, 1863-1864. Washington: National Archives. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office. 9 reels.
  • United States. District Court. Virginia (Eastern District). Case Papers of the U. S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia Relating to the Confiscation of Property 1863-1865. Washington: National Archives. 1 reel.
  • United States. Library of Congress. Records of the States of the United States of America.Washington,: Photoduplication Service, Library of Congress, 1949. 929 reels. Index: Ref Z 1223.5 A1 U47.
  • United States. Provost Marshall General's Bureau. Reports and Decisions of the Provost Marshal General, 1863-1866. Washington: National Archives. 1 reel: Descriptive pamphlet filed in Reference Office.
  • United States. Secret Service. Register of Monthly Reports by U.S. Secret Service Agents, Dec. 1864 - Feb. 1871. Washington: National Archives, 1952. 7 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in the Reference Office.
  • United States. Treasury Dept. Letters Sent by the Secretary of Treasury Relating to Restricted Commercial Intercourse, 1861-1887. Washington: National Archives, 8 reels. Descriptive guide in the Reference Office.
  • _____. Letters Sent to the President by the Secretary of the Treasury, 1833-1878. Washington: National Archives, 1962. 1 reel.
  • _____. Registers of Letters Relating to Claims Received in the Office of the Secretary of the Treasury, 1864-1887. Washington: National Archives. 2 reels.
  • United States. War Dept. Letters Received by the Secretary of War, Main Series, 1801-1870. Washington: National Archives. 317 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • _____. Letters Sent by the Secretary of War Relating to Military Affairs, 1800-1889. Washington: National Archives. 110 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • _____. Letters Sent by the Secretary of War to the President and Executive Departments, 1863-1870. Washington: National Archives. 5 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • ____. Letters Sent to the President by the Secretary of War, 1800-1863. Washington: National Archives. 6 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • _____. Registers of Letters Received by the Office of the Secretary of War, Irregular Series, 1861-1866. Washington: National Archives. 4 reels;. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • _____. Registers of Letters Received by the Office of the Secretary of War, Main Series, 1800-1870. Washington: National Archives. 134 reels. Descriptive pamphlet in Reference Office.
  • Wake Union Baptist Church, Wake Forest, N.C. Records, 1789-1922. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1963. 2 reels.
  • Wheeling Daily Intelligencer. Jan. 1858-Dec. 1865. Wheeling, W. Va. 16 reels.
  • Yeopim Baptist Church, Chowan County, N.C. Record Book, 1791-1882. Nashville, Tenn.: Historical Commission, Southern Baptist Convention, 1963. 1 reel.