Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books dealing with the American Civil War. This guide describes the bulk of those holdings, although it is not a comprehensive list.

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Consult the Special Collections Research Center’s Web site for more information about using the collections. Registration  and search tools are available to see further descriptions of many of these collections as well as to search for additional collections. Some images and transcriptions of documents are available at the Digital Archive and at the transcription site. There is the option of Interlibrary Loan for books that Swem does not have. Staff is always willing to assist.

Family Papers and Organizational Records A-F

39.2 Ad3  Adee Papers, 1862-1865. 5 items.
Letters, 1863-1865, received by Etta Adee of Barrington, N.Y. from "brother John" [with 29th New York Infantry Regiment] in Arkansas and Louisiana; and from John S. Miller of the 29th Iowa Infantry stationed as provost guard at St. Louis. One letter describes Battle of Jenkins Ferry.

SC 00360 Alexander Family Papers, 1860-1867. 5 items.
This collection contains the papers of the Alexander family of Mecklenburg Co., Va. It includes the letters of Sally Parker (Turner) Alexander, a letter from Lt. Norfleet Smith of Co. G, 3rd N. C. Cavalry, Barringer's Brigade, requesting 12 hour leave of absence, and a letter from Mark T. Alexander, Rosser's Cavalry Division, to his mother Sally Park (Turner) Alexander concerning disagreement between Thomas L. Rosser and Fitzhugh Lee. A list dated April 9, 1865 names the persons enslaved by Mark Alexander.

MS 00269 Thomas L. Alfriend Papers, 1861-1901. 56 items.
The collection includes typescript copies of letters to or about Frank Heath Alfriend (1841-1887), brother of Thomas L. Alfriend and biographer of Jefferson Davis. Location of the originals of these letters is unknown.

86 A11 William P. Allcot Papers, 1861-1864. 29 items.
Correspondence to his parents and brother, all of New York. Allcot served in the 62nd N.Y. Infantry. He was in camps near Washington, D.C., in Island Hospital, N.Y., in camps in Virginia and Maryland, and at Carver Hospital, D.C. Describes camp conditions, battlefield, Civil War news, and his health. See also https://digitalarchive.wm.edu/browse?type=author&value=Allcot%2C+William+P.

39.2 Ar5 Armistead Papers, 1736-1897. 61 items.
Copies of papers concerning the Armistead family of Williamsburg. Includes letters of R.T. Armistead concerning his Civil War record, Confederate passes issued to Robert H. Armistead, and his oath of allegiance to the United States.

65 Ar6 Armistead-Cocke Family Papers, 1680-1907. 296 items.
Papers of the Armistead and Cocke families of "Bremo," Henrico Co., Va.; "Oakland," Cumberland County, Va. and account books, 1851-1863, of Richard P. Jones of "Lands End," Gloucester Co. as well as scrapbooks and genealogical material. Includes letters of William Fauntleroy Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston Cocke, and Edmund Randolph Cocke concerning service in the Confederate States Army (especially the Battle of First Bull Run).

69 Au7 Austin-Twyman Papers, 1765-1939. 10,706 items.
Papers of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Va. Includes letters written during the Civil War by civilians as well as by James Austin and Thomas Austin while serving in the 21st Virginia Infantry Regiment.

65 Av1 Myrta Lockett Avary Papers, 1901-1941. 92 items.
Correspondence and typescripts of articles concerning Reconstruction. Includes reminiscences of her father, Harrison Alexander Lockett.

65 B16 Baird Family Papers, 1656-1922. 3,312 items.
Includes letters written by Edward R. Baird while with Pickett's Division.

65 B24 Barker-Cooke Papers, 1809-1889. 182 items.
Primarily, 1848-1866, letters and business papers of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Va. and the Barker family of Fluvanna Co., Va. including letters of John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of 18th Virginia Infantry Regiment (concerning First Bull Run).

65 B29 Barron Family Papers, 1793-1942. 538 items.
Papers of three generations of Samuel Barrons, all of whom were naval officers. Includes papers of Samuel Barron (1808-1888) as an officer of the Confederate States Navy in command of the European theater. Correspondents include Zebulon Baird Vance, Stephen R. Mallory and Raphael Semmes (giving an account of the engagement between the USS Kearsage and the CSS Alabama); memoir by James Barron Hope in vindication of the censure of Samuel Barron for the loss of Fort Hatteras, N.C.; and papers relating to the service of Samuel Barron (1836-1892) as acting master and lieutenant in the Confederate States Navy.

39.2 B38 Beard Papers, 1834-1906. 33 items.
Includes order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.

39.2 B68 Bowles Family Papers, 1827-1870. 37 items.
Includes Civil War letters of Jesse R. Bowles (serving with the 55th Virginia Infantry Regiment near Petersburg, James V. Bowles (Chaffin's Farm, Henrico County, Va.) and John F. Bowles.

SC 01069 Edwin Y. Brown Papers, 1862. 3 items.
Letters of a Union officer to his family describing the Battle of Williamsburg, Va. with a later manuscript reminiscence of the Peninsular Campaign.

65 B85 Group D Brown-Coalter-Tucker Papers, 1780-1929 (I) Group D. 3,433 items.
Contains the papers of John Thompson Brown, Confederate colonel, who was killed in action in 1864 (including papers found on his person when he was killed).

39.1 B95 Burwell Family Papers, 1853-1911. 230 items.
Correspondence and accounts of Dr. Blair Burwell including a letter written while a member of the 8th Virginia Infantry.

39.1 C15 Calfee Papers, 1812-1919. 431 items.
Papers, chiefly 1859-1889, of the Calfee family of southwest Virginia. Includes letters written by Confederate soldiers, David H. Calfee, James Calfee, L.S. Calfee, and William B. Calfee.

39.1 C16 Campbell Family Papers, 1726-1920. 1,745 items.
Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange County, Va. Collection includes correspondence, medical accounts, military orders, and reports of Dr. William S. Parran who served in the 13th Virginia Infantry Regiment at the battles of Bull Run, and Cedar Mountain and who was killed at Antietam. Correspondents include A.P. Hill, and John Letcher, and there is one letter from 1861 concerning Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson.

39.1 C76 Civil War Collection, 1861-1865. ca. 1,030 items.
An artificial collection of papers from both the Confederate and Union sides, but chiefly Confederate. The collection includes official and private correspondence, orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war and artifacts. The collection also includes Confederate bonds and currency, pardons, poems and songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, and engineers' drawings.

98 C63 William Tell Cobb Papers, 1802-1865. 188 items.
Letters of William Tell Cobb who served in the 20th Pennsylvania Infantry, 5th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, 2nd U. S. Cavalry and in the U. S. Navy and of his brother, Edwin Cobb to their father, Samuel Cobb. Letters concern camp life, skirmishes, battle of Fair Oaks, Second Manassas, Fort Fisher, the Monitor-Merrimack engagement, and conditions in Charleston, S. C.

39.1 D30 Alexander M. Davis Papers, 1850-1892. 201 items.
Papers of a lawyer in Wytheville and Grayson County, Va. who served in the 45th Virginia Infantry Regiment as lieutenant colonel. Includes Civil War letters.

39.2 D31 Jefferson Davis Papers, 1858-1904. 34 items.
Correspondence, 1884-1885, of Jefferson Davis and correspondence, 1890-1904, of Varina Howell Davis with Flora Adams Darling; and correspondence of the Jefferson Monument Association of Richmond, Va. Includes broadside, 1862, of Davis' inaugural address program, 1893, of exercises at the re-interment of Davis' remains, and engravings and prints of Davis.

65 D51 Dew Family Papers, 1794-1895. 162 items.
Includes amnesty oaths, 1865, of Benjamin Franklin Dew.

39.1 D73 Dorsey-Coupland Papers, 1840-1876. 413 items.
Correspondence, 1843-1865, of John R. Coupland of Williamsburg, Richmond and Petersburg with his wife Susan Henley Coupland including letters written to her while he was in Richmond working in the Second Auditor's Office of the Confederate States of America War Department. Letter, 20 June 1864, written by Edmund Ruffin and other material concerning Ruffin.

Mss. 39.2 Ea5 Jubal Early Papers, 1863-1890. 12 items.
Papers relating to and by Early. Include letter, 1884, of Early concerning Second Manassas and Antietam; letter, 1890, to Horatio F. Wright concerning false signal at Cedar Creek and errors in Grant's memoirs; letter, 1867, of Mrs. Henry Wirz; letter of John Thomas Gibson concerning meeting between Lee and Grant on 10 April 1865; and typescripts concerning first and second day at Gettysburg; Isaac Trimble's report on Second Manassas; James G. Field's account of Second Manassas and extract from diary, 13 June-12 August 1864, concerning Maryland and Valley Campaigns of Early; newspaper clippings concerning differences between Early and William Malone; and printed correspondence of Early and Malone.

SC 01415 Eastern State Hospital Records, 1862-1957. 24 items.
Papers, chiefly 1862-1868, relating to Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, patient reports, and requisition orders of Dr. Peter Wager, director of the hospital during the Union occupation of Williamsburg.

SC 00500  Moses A. Ethriage Papers, 1863. 4 items.
Typescripts of four letters of Ethriage while stationed in North Carolina and at Sullivan's Island, S.C. to family members and friends discussing his life in camp.

39.1 Ew3 Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers, 1784-1934. 1,503 items.
Papers, chiefly 1830-1894, of Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, president of the College of William and Mary, colonel of the 32nd Virginia Infantry, and assistant adjutant general to Joseph E. Johnston. Includes letters of immediate family members, including letters of his brother General Richard Stoddert Ewell.

65 F59 John Buchanan Floyd Papers, 1831-1862. 72 items.
Papers, chiefly 1850-1863, of John B. Floyd, governor of Virginia, United States Secretary of War and Confederate general. Civil War correspondents include Jefferson Davis, Benjamin Huger and R.M.T. Hunter.

39.2 F74 Forbes Letters, 1862-1865. 26 items.
Civil War letters of the Forbes family of Buckingham County, Va. that include letters written by John R. Forbes (18th Virginia Infantry), Claude O. Forbes (57th Virginia Infantry), P.A. Forbes (18th Virginia Infantry) and Benjamin P. Smith (18th Virginia Infantry). Subjects include health of soldiers, requests for food and clothing, hired slaves, black soldiers as pickets at Petersburg, and desertions.

39.2 F88 and 98 F88  Samuel Bassett French Papers, 1872-1893. 447 + 52  items.
Papers, 1872-1893, of S. Bassett French. Includes mostly letters to French from Virginians contributing biographical sketches for a proposed book, The Annals of Prominent Virginians of XIXth century. Also includes speeches, legal documents, and letters recommending French for various positions.

Personal Papers and Organizational Records G-P

94 G56 Augustus C. Golding Papers, 1859-1934. 42 items.
Augustus C. Golding served as a sergeant in Company G of the 12th U.S. Infantry. He fought in Northern Virginia, on the Virginia peninsula, and in Maryland.

78 G63 Goodwin Family Papers, 1826-1959. 309 items.
Papers of the Goodwin family, the bulk of which are the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister, which includes a memoir of Wytheville, Va. during the Civil War.

39.2 H31 Emma Virginia Hatfield Papers, 1845-1890. 107 items.
Letters, 1861-1890, received chiefly by Emma Virginia "Ginnie" Hatfield of Bridgewater, Rockingham County, Va. including Civil War letters from her brothers, Hiram "Hiley" E. Hatfield of the Valley Press Band, 48th Virginia Infantry Regiment, and John F. Hatfield of the 10th Virginia Infantry as well as from other soldiers.

SC 01072 D.H. Hill [not the Confederate general] Letters, 1863. 2 items.
Letters, 22 September and 28 October 1863, written by D.H. Hill of the 46th North Carolina Infantry Regiment. One concerns the Battle of Bristoe Station.

 SC 01064 Daniel Harvey Hill Papers, 1861-1865. 4 items.
Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 4 May 1862 written by Confederate general Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for the battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; Peninsula Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.

39.2 H63 Ambrose Hite Papers, 1861-1863. 4 items.
Letters, 1861-1863, of Ambrose M. Hite, a soldier in the Confederate Army (33rd Virginia Infantry Regiment) to his sister, Susan R. Hite, in Page County, Va. Includes description of camp life and an account of the battle of Gettysburg and the retreat that followed.

SC 01283 Henry C. Hoar Memorial Collection, 1861-1886. 10 items.
Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar. Letter, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning evacuation of Hampton which bears a letter of C.V. Winfree on the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as John Willcox Brown of the Fourth Battalion of Volunteers concerning duty near Norfolk, and John Thompson Brown of Richmond Howitzers describing Battle of Big Bethel; A.B. Tuttle of 142nd N.Y. Regiment describing military movements in James City Co., Va.; and John H.B. Jenkins (of 40th N.Y. Infantry) describing the Battle of Williamsburg.

65 H73 George Frederick Holmes Papers, 1790-1898. 66 items.
Letters, 27 September 1864 and 5 July 1865, of E[dward A.] Holmes, Johnson's Island, Ohio, to his brother, describing capture, conditions, and his hope of returning to England.

65 H88 Robert Morton Hughes Collection, 1715-1940. 238 items.
Concerns his biography of Joseph Eggleston Johnston.

39.2 H87 Robert William Hughes Papers, 1818-1900. 103 items.
Hughes, a lawyer and unsuccessful Republican candidate for governor of Virginia and for Congress, married Joseph E. Johnston's niece, who was the adopted daughter of John B. Floyd. Prominent correspondents are Benjamin F. Butler, Benjamin S. Ewell, U.S. Grant, Joseph E. Johnston, W.H.F. Lee, James Longstreet, and John S. Mosby.

SC 01081 John H. B. Jenkins Papers, 1862. 3 items.
Letters, 15 March-5 June 1862, of John H.B. Jenkins (of the 40th New York Infantry) to Mary A. Benjamin, Smyrna, Del. describing camp life and the progress of the war especially in the Battle of Fair Oaks and conditions in Hampton, Va. See also Henry C. Hoar Memorial Collection.

39.1 J63  Joseph E. Johnston Papers, 1825-1891. 264 items.
Papers of Joseph E. Johnston including correspondence which reflects his long military career. The papers include eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegram books (available on microfilm). Subjects include Braxton Bragg, Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, Jefferson Davis, William Joseph Hardee, and the Atlanta Campaign of 1864.

39.2 J72 John William Jones Papers, 1875-1893. 45 items.
Letters received by Jones (1836-1909) as secretary of the Southern Historical Society, mostly concerning the Civil War. Correspondents include Edward Porter Alexander, Jubal A. Early, A.A. Humphreys, Joseph E. Johnston, Charles Colcock Jones (concerning his A Roster of General Officers), Dabney H. Maury, William Gordon McCabe, H.B. McClellan (concerning 25th reunion of Gettysburg). Includes letter, 21 April 1876, from Mary Sophia Hill concerning her treatment by Union soldiers.

39.1 J75 Warner T. Jones Papers, 1807-1891. 2,674 items.
Papers of Warner T. Jones, judge of Gloucester County, Va.; his brother Richard P. Jones; and nephew John R. Page. Prominent correspondents include William Booth Taliaferro. Wartime letters include two from soldiers (in the 34th Virginia and 26th Virginia Infantry).

39.1 L16 William Lamb Diaries and Papers, 1835-1909. 61 items.
Papers of William Lamb, lawyer of Norfolk, Va. who commanded Fort Fisher, N.C. Diaries for the war years are 1861 and 1864-1865 (available in typescript). Includes report, 27 December 1864, made by Lamb concerning the federal attack on Fort Fisher. Collection includes diary, 1861, of Sarah Chaffee Lamb.

39.1 L33 Lassiter Papers, 1861-1928. 962 items.
Collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the Civil War. See staff for assistance.

SC 01066 John Letcher Papers, 1860-1875. 6 items.
Includes letters, 3 November 1864-3 September 1865, of Letcher to Joseph A. Hierholzer concerning Jubal A. Early and Robert E. Lee.

SC 01294 Francis Little Collection, 1770-1864. 6 items.
Papers collected by Little, including two Civil War letters.

39.2 L72 Lewis Peyton Little Papers, 1918-1936. 28 items.
Draft of his unpublished “The Battle of Bethel.”

39.2 M36 Martin Papers, 1802-1868. 43 items.
Papers, 1862-1868, of the Martin family of North Carolina, but chiefly the correspondence of Major Thomas Alston Martin, who served in the 13th N.C. Infantry. Includes letter, 1862, of R.C. Martin written while serving in the Confederate Army.

39.2 M15 McDermed Papers, 1842-1882. 42 items.
Chiefly letters, 1851-1882, to Edward McDermed of Roanoke County, Va. Includes correspondence, 1861-1865, of Confederate soldiers including R.F. Kefauver (of the 42nd Virginia Infantry Regiment), Oliver H.P. McDermed, Charles Lewis Anthony stationed at Jamestown Island and an unidentified soldier. Subjects of the Civil War letters include the Peninsular Campaign and operations under Jubal A. Early.

MS 00143 Samuel McNutt Papers, 1861-1864. 66 items.
66 letters home, 1861-1864 from Corporal Samuel McNutt of Company H, 12th Pennsylvania Volunteers. A few typescripts prepared by Randolph Poriss are included. More than half the letters are from Virginia and include comments on the battle of Fredericksburg, Peninsular Campaign, Battle of Mechanicsville. Battle of Gettysburg, 1863, included.

65 M59 John Millington Papers, 1801-1951. 2,477 items.
Professor at the College of William and Mary, University of Mississippi and Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries, 1861-1867, kept in Tennessee and Philadelphia and family correspondence.

39.1 M74 Mongle-Hughes Papers, 1832-1916. 1,180 items.


Includes order, 10 August 1861, appointing Jeremiah B. Mongle and others patrol the “Negro” quarters to prevent the “unlawful assembling of slaves”; claims against C.S.A. government for military service pay; and claim, 1865, of Jeremiah B. Mongle for property used by U. S. Army in 1864.

39.2 M99 Gustavus A. Myers Papers, 1834-1869. 56 items.
Papers of Richmond's leading Jewish citizen. Includes letter, 1861, from John Augustine Washington concerning his Civil War service.

76 N52 James Monroe Nicholson Papers, 1855-1870. 4 items.
Includes account book kept by Nicholson and John L. Hibble as assistant quartermaster, 26th Infantry Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864. Ms Vol. b

65 Ov2 Overton Family papers, 1727-1918. 3,282 items.
Papers, chiefly 1781-1875, of members of the Overton and related families of Louisa County, Va. and Haywood County, Tenn. The papers, 1860's and 1870's, reflect the effect of the Civil War and Reconstruction on the Claybrooke family of Tennessee.

39.1 P15 Page-Saunders Papers, 1790-1932. 190 items.
Includes letters, 1861-1865, of Robert Saunders from Williamsburg, Richmond, Pittsylvania Court House and Liberty (now Bedford), Va.

Mss. 65 R44 and Mss. Acc. 2003.60 Harrison Holt Riddleberger Papers, 1872-1902.

This collection contains letters and other papers, 1872-1902, of H. H. Riddleberger (1844-1890) of Woodstock, Virginia who was a  member of the House of Delegates, 1871-1875; State Senator, 1879- 1882; and U.S. Senator, 1883-l889. He was elected as a Readjuster to the United States Senate where he served from 1883-1889.Among the correspondents are: William Mahone, William E. Cameron, Winfield S. Hancock, Roscoe Conkling, Robert Toombs, Fitz-John Porter, John W. Daniel, and John Goode. There are letters from Riddleberger to his wife Emma Belew Riddleberger and to their children. See staff for assistance or go to http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaxtf/view?docId=wm/viw00011.xml

MS 00270. Robert Saunders Letters.  66 items.

This collection consists of 66 letters written by Robert Saunders of Williamsburg, Virginia to his wife Lucy Burwell Saunders (60 letters) and his daughters Lucy Page Saunders (three letters) and Roberta P. Saunders (two letters) from 1829-1867.Folders 5-13 contain letters written during the Civil War.

 65 P28 Samuel Paul Papers, 1828-1886. 3,774 items.
Includes business correspondence and accounts, 1861-1865, concerning manufacturers, wholesalers, customers, creditors, and debtors dealing with collection of debts and war- time conditions, and distribution of salt.

SC 01212  Emmanuel Peter Papers, 1861-1865. 46 items.

Letters from a Union soldier in the 49th Pennsylvania Volunteers from Civil War camps near Harrisburg, Pa., Washington, D.C. and in Virginia (Fairfax, Chickahominy, Warwick Co., Harrison's Landing, Berryville, Belle Plain, White Oak Church, Rappahannock River, Brandy Station, Petersburg [Weldon Railroad, Fort Hell, Fort Wadsworth], Harper's Ferry, Winchester, Middletown, and Richmond.] and Maryland [Hagerstown and Fort Gaines].

39.2 P54 William H. Phillips Papers, 1838-1865. 9 items.
Includes letters, 1861-1865, of William H. Phillips while serving in the 14th Virginia Infantry on Jamestown Island, at Chester, Va. and near Farmville, Va.

SC 00359 Adam Porter Papers, 1864. 5 items.
Letters, 22 September-7 October 1864, of Pvt. Adam Porter of Co. A, 194th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, stationed at Camp Carroll, Md. to his sister and brother-in-law in Williamsport, Pa. describing camp life and including a pen and ink sketch of Porter and a carte-de-visite of him in uniform.

65 P87 Powell Family Papers, 1775-1927. 874 items.
Letters and papers of Charles Leven Powell, his wife Selina (Lloyd) Powell and children of Loudoun County, Va., Henry, Ill., Winchester and Alexandria, Va. Letters concern Robert Young Conrad, Hunter Holmes McGuire, civilian affairs during the Civil War and the Kilpatrick-Dahlgren Raid.

Personal Papers and Organizational Records R-W

39.2 R20 Rawlings Papers, 1842-1863. 34 items.
Mainly correspondence, 1859-1863, of William Most Rawlings including his correspondence while serving in the 21st Virginia Infantry Regiment with his family including Robert Larkin Rawlings (also serving in the Confederate States Army).

65 R51 Ritchie-Harrison Papers, 1807-1938. 856 items.
Primarily 1830-1870, the collection is divided into Series I: family papers of Ritchie and Harrison families; and Series II: professional papers of newspaper editor Thomas Ritchie. Series I includes letters reflecting conditions during the Civil War.

73s R52 William Cabell Rives Papers, 1824-1864. 8 items.
Includes letter, 18 October 1864, of W.C. Rives to Dr. Robert W. Haxall, Richmond, Va., thanking him for coal, commenting on wine, and the Civil War.

65 R56 Moncure Robinson Papers, 1787-1889. ca. 3,300 items.
Papers of three generations of the Robinson family, centering on Moncure Robinson, civil engineer. Includes his correspondence with John Moncure Robinson who was supervisor of operations in Virginia for the Confederate States and who represented the Confederacy as purchasing agent in England for railroads as well as the correspondence of Moncure Robinson with others.

MS 00245 George Michener Hart Collection on Moncure Robinson, 1816-1919.

The George Michener Hart Collection on Moncure Robinson is a compilation of the papers, letters, photographs and other artifacts belonging or relating to the noted early American civil and railroad engineer Moncure Robinson. The collection contains correspondence, engineering data, bills, statements of accounts, calling cards, letters, photographs and other items. Scattered letters written in Civil War period.

39.1 R56 Robinson Family Papers, 1725-1940.

Includes manuscript volume containing copies of letters, 1861-1864, written by Cary Robinson (1843-1864) while serving in the 6th Virginia Infantry Regiment. (Folder 11).

65 R76 Rouzie Family Papers, 1858-1864. 72 items.
Letters of Richard Rouzie and William Waller Rouzie while serving in the 55th Virginia Infantry Regiment.

39.2 Sco8 John W. Scott Papers, 1861-1862. 8 items.
Correspondence, 1861-1862, of Lt. John W. Scott, Co. E, 30th Virginia Infantry Regiment with his wife, Ella H. Scott.

81 Scu4 Theodocius Joshua Scurlock Papers, 1855-1888. 116 items.
Letters received by or concerning Scurlock who was a resident of Texas and Mexico from family and friends in Alabama, Texas and Mississippi. Letters reflect people's reactions to events of the pre-Civil War period and life during Reconstruction.

65 Sk3 Skipwith Family Papers, 1760-1977. 6,496 items.
Mostly receipts and accounts concerning farm business. One letter, 20 March 1863, concerns Mrs. Helen Skipwith Wilmer's husband being detained in Washington, D.C. (Box 17, Folder 4)

65 T15 William Booth Taliaferro Papers, 1811-1954. ca. 6,800 items.
Papers of General William Booth Taliaferro of Gloucester County, Va. (and of his family) who served in the Mexican War and was under Stonewall Jackson in the Valley Campaign. He commanded Jackson's Division at the battles of Cedar Mountain, Second Manassas and Fredericksburg. He commanded Fort Wagner and served in both Georgia and Florida. (See Boxes 3-4.)

39.1 T21 Thomas Taylor Papers, 1851-1914. 154 items.
Chiefly, 1867-1880, written to Thomas Taylor of "Woodlawn," Goochland County, Va. from his daughter Sarah C. (Taylor) Hatcher and son-in-law David A. Hatcher of Missouri reflecting financial difficulties during Reconstruction.

Acc. 1992.18 William Taylor Correspondence, 1862-1864. 176 items.
Letters, 14 September 1862-31 October 1864, from Sergeant William Taylor to his wife, Jane McKnight Taylor. The letters are written from camps in Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky, Illinois, Tennessee, Mississippi, Indiana and Maryland and on board steamers. Included are descriptions of the Battle of Fredericksburg, the shelling of Vicksburg, the fighting, retreat and siege near Knoxville, the siege of Petersburg, and the Petersburg mine explosion and assault. Ask staff for assistance.

39.1 T36 Thomas Papers, 1809-1915. 513 items.
Chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas of Elberta, Ga. concerning his law practice and mentioning his friendship with Robert Toombs. Includes a number of Civil War letters.

65 T59 Christopher Tompkins Papers, 1778-1838. 16 items.
Includes twenty-one pages from an account book of A.Y.P. Garnett, surgeon in Sally Tompkins Confederate Hospital, Richmond, Va. listing foodstuffs.

MS 00007 Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers. 1834-1928, 1988, undated

Papers of Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman, especially her memoir of life in occupied Williamsburg and over fifty letters of her husband Charles W. Coleman, Confederate doctor.

 

Sm Coll Turner Turner Papers, 1778-1908. 67 items.
Papers of the Turner family of "Orapax," New Kent County, Va. Some letters describe the effects of the Civil War on civilians.

65 T97 Group A Tyler Family Papers, Group A, 1716-1946. 22 boxes.
Includes correspondence of Julia Gardiner Tyler concerning the Civil War and "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. (Box 9)

65 T97 Group H Tyler Family Papers, Group H, 1750-1935. 7 boxes.
Includes a scrapbook [indexed] which has Civil War letters.

65 V32 Elizabeth Van Lew Collection. 1854-1926. 300 items.
Elizabeth Van Lew was a Union spy who lived in Richmond. Papers, collected by John Albree in preparing lectures on Van Lew. Includes letters, notes, newspaper clippings and photographs as well as typed copies of her scrapbook. Collection also includes material concerning Jefferson Davis and Civil War letters from North Carolina.

39.2 Vco82 Warwick County Papers, 1647-1961. 2 boxes.
Must be used on microfilm. Photocopies of letters of a federal soldier to his brother from a camp near Warwick Courthouse, April 1862 concerning troop marches, camp life, effect of war on the county and the removal of county records.

39.1 W32 and 2008.306  Nathaniel Venable Watkins Papers, 1846-1889. 3 boxes.
Letters, chiefly 1862-1865, written by Watkins to his wife Nancy Daniel Watkins. He served with Co. H, 4th Virginia Heavy Artillery, which became part of the 34th Virginia Infantry Regiment. Much of his time was in defensive positions, guarding artillery batteries. His unit was stationed at Gloucester Point (during the Peninsula Campaign) near Richmond (Chaffin's Bluff) and near Petersburg. His letters concern camp life, religion among the soldiers, his work as a clerk for courts-martial, and directions concerning management of his farm while he was away. Collection also includes letters written by Richard H. Watkins who served in the Prince Edward Dragoons, 3rd Virginia Cavalry, and who was a farmer during Reconstruction. The collection has letters concerning slavery before and during the Civil War as well as letters written by formerly enslaved persons.

39.2 Vci 82 Williamsburg Papers, 1632-1973. ca. 52 items.
Includes letter from a Union soldier, Sam Putnam, 25th Massachusetts Volunteers, to his father describing occupied Williamsburg and sending several letters [(not included) written by Thomas Jefferson and Richard Henry Lee] pillaged from a house in the town as well as other material concerning Civil War Williamsburg.

39.2 W67 Wills Papers, 1859-1864. 83 items.
Includes letters of Charles A. Wills, John A. Bradley and Joseph M. Bradley (all of 58th Virginia Infantry Regiment); and Habun R. Foster who also served in the Confederate Army. The battle of Second Manassas is described as is the battleground at Seven Pines (Fair Oaks).

SC 00329 William Woodville, Jr. Papers, 1861-1864 10 items.
Ten lengthy detailed letters with news of camp life, military maneuvers. Woodville was an officer with the Confederate army and an aide-de-camp top Harry T. Hays.