General Humanities Databases
These databases will be useful for topics that touch on many different disciplines - they provide information related to all humanities concepts (film, literature, women's studies, etc.) but come with the drawback of sometimes having too much information in too many different directions.
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowArts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles are 2007 to the present, so it makes a nice companion to JSTOR.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowLiterature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Subject-Specific Databases
In addition to general databases, you will likely want to peruse some subject-specific databases, as well. These are narrower in scope, meaning you can use fewer keywords and get more specific information relevant to the discipline you're researching within.
Literature Databases
Gale Literature [Gale Literary Sources] This link opens in a new windowIntegrates literature resources from Gale into a single research environment. The following collections are available within this interface: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder,Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, MLA International Bibliography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
MLA International Bibliography with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. Best for finding articles related to themes or specific works of literature.
Film Databases
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present. Good for researching media representation.
Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Databases
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Some cited references are included. Coverage: 1952-present.
All W&M Libraries DatabasesThe databases listed here are our most-used ones in each respective disciplines, but if you're looking for some deep cuts this link will get you to everything we have access to. We have over 900 databases, so use the subjects and filters to help you narrow down to what's appropriate for your topic.
