Honors English Research

National and regional newspapers, including those from country and university towns, those from the new industrial centers of the Midlands, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Coverage: 1800-1900.

Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Formerly 19th Century Masterfile. Covers scholarly sources from the 12th century to early 20th century. Includes Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents, and images. Coverage: 1106-1930 (varies by source).

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

Fully searchable facsimile images that capture daily life in America. Wide variety of items, including clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, advertisements, menus, and social invitations. Coverage: 1760-1900.

American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Coverage: 1639-1900.

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Coverage: 1701-1800.

Citations to more than 460,000 books, serials, pamphlets, advertisements, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral material published mainly in the British Isles and North America. From the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Database now freely available from the British Library. Coverage: 1473-1800.

Harpers Weekly, the news and literary journal published in New York City. Searchable full text, including news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and advertisements. Coverage: 1857-1877.

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Collection of historical primary-source databases. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

The world's newspaper of record. Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-2019.

Weekly literature review published in London. Complete facsimile edition, fully searchable. Book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters, and commentary pieces. Coverage: 1902-2014.