Digital Humanities

Humanitiesdata.com seeks to help collect and disseminate information about publicly available data of particular interest to digital humanities and humanities computing. It is founded on the premise that open data will be crucial for the future of digital humanities.

The Post45 Data Collective peer reviews and houses literary and cultural data from 1945 to the present on an open-access website.

The Black Studies Dataverse contains various quantitative and qualitative datasets related to the study of African American life and history that can be used in Digital Humanities research and teaching. Black studies is a systematic way of studying black people in the world – such as their history, culture, sociology, and religion. Users can access the information to perform analyses of various subjects ranging from literature, black migration patterns, and rap music. In addition, these .csv datasets can also be transformed into interactive infographics that tell stories about various topics in Black Studies.

Welcome to Libros en Navarra | Books in Navarre. This is a database created and maintained by Alexandra Wingate to store data about the books circulating through bookstores and private libraries in Navarre during the late 16th and early 17th centuries. The main source of data is from inventories found in court records generated by the secular and diocesan tribunals in Navarre that are currently held in the Archivo Real y General de Navarra (AGN) and the Archivo Diocesano de Pamplona (ADP). Books currently in the database were analyzed during Wingate's undergraduate and masters theses, and this current project is part of her PhD disseration research. Data is still being added to the database, and the structure isn't in it's final form. Transcriptions of all of the inventories will eventually be available in the transcriptions tab. The database tab contains the data for the whole database.

Dunham’s Data explores the kinds of questions and problems that make the analysis and visualization of data meaningful for dance history, through the case study of 20th century African American choreographer Katherine Dunham. We manually curate datasets from a large body of undigitized primary source print materials that Dunham herself chose to save, held by seven archives across the United States, which find meaning and expression in tandem with exploratory static and interactive data visualizations. These document the daily itinerary of Dunham’s touring and travel from the 1930s-60s; the over 300 dancers, drummers, and singers who appeared with her; and the shifting configurations of the nearly 300 repertory entities they performed. Together they provide new means to understand the relationships between thousands of locations, and hundreds of performers and pieces across decades of Dunham's performing career, and ultimately elaborate how movement moves across bodies and geographies.

This dataset contains bibliographic records of all translations of Nordic crime fiction for adults, written in any of the five main Nordic languages (Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedish) and published in translation during the period 2000–2020.

The David Rumsey Map Collection contains more than 200,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present.

By making the form and content of cuneiform texts available online, the CDLI is opening pathways to the rich historical tradition of the ancient Middle East. In close collaboration with researchers, museums and an engaged public, the project seeks to unharness the extraordinary content of these earliest witnesses to our shared world heritage.