Research Guides: Digital Humanities: Text Analysis with HathiTrust

About HathiTrust, HTDL, and HTRC

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.

Willaim and Mary is an Instutional Member of HathiTrust, which allows affiliated users free full-text downloads of complete volumes as well as special access to the HathiTrust Research Center, along with somw other benefits.

Workshop Resources

HathiTrust Resources

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
Hathitrust Research Center This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) enables computational analysis of works in the HathiTrust Digital Library (HTDL) to facilitate non-profit research and educational uses of the collection. HTRC, which is co-located at Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, engages in research and development for computational text analysis of massive digital libraries. Leveraging data storage and computational infrastructure at Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Center creates and maintains a suite of tools and services for text-based, data-driven research, such as HTRC Algorithms and Data Capsule, and engages in cutting-edge research on large-scale data analysis.

HTRC operates under a non-consumptive research paradigm: HTRC makes available the collection for computational analysis, while remaining clearly within the bounds of the fair use rights courts have recognized as applying to text analysis. The Center is committed to breaking new ground in the areas of non-consumptive text mining, allowing scholars to fully utilize content of the HathiTrust Digital Library.

HathiTrust - Bookworm
Search for trends in millions of volumes at http://hathitrust.org. Only single word queries supported. Some queries may be slow depending on the complexity of the query. A wait time of up to five minutes is normal. Wait time may increase during periods of high activity.

Easy Collections for using HTRC Analytics

ABC of Reading
Bombastic booklist of Ezra Pound in his short work, ABC of Reading. See UToronto for Golding's Metamorphoses.
Victorian Serialized Novels Collection
A collection of novels by George Meredith, Thomas Hardy, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Wilkie Collins, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Elizabeth Gaskell that were first prinited in serials and later consolidated into these single volume editions.
W&M Quarterly
Issues of the W&M Quarterly published between 1895 and 1907. For the full listing of issues and digital access between 1892-present, visit this link: https://oieahc.wm.edu/publications/wmq/browse/
Artist Biographies
Biographies of artisits in the arts and entertainment published in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Banned Books
Top 100 most banned books as listed at: https://www.worldcat.org/lists/1eec720f-4904-4aab-88a7-51bbffb28476
Baird's Manual of College Fraternities
Editions of Raimond Baird's "American College Fraternities: A Descriptive Analysis of the Society System in the Colleges of the United States, with a Detailed Account of Each Fraternity"
AIDS Activism 1975-2000
Information related to AIDS activism between 1975-2000, focusing on diaries, memoirs and autobiographies.
NYC Business Directory
Business directory NYC 19-20th century
Library of the Health Sciences
A list of full view items either in or related to the collection of the University of Illinois Chicago Library of the Health Sciences Special Collections Department.
Ann Arbor History
History and development of the Ann Arbor Community.

HTRC Output Example - HTDL: African American Fiction Collection

African American Fiction Collection
Mostly novels -- some short stories and plays -- by Black American authors. If they are open for reading I've included multiple copies. Possibly skewed toward women writers. Have checked 1800-1965 at https://bbip.ku.edu/novel-collections
Word Cloud: African American Fiction
No Stopword-Removal
Word Cloud: African American Fiction
Stop words removed
Topic Model: Africna American Fiction

Named Entity Recognition: African Ameican Fiction
Excel Spreadsheet (with visualization examples)

Other Text Mining Projects and Tools

Robots Reading Vogue
Few magazines can boast being continuously published for over a century, familiar and interesting to wide audiences, full of iconic pictures, and also completely digitized and marked up as both text and images. Robots Reading Vogue demonstrates the possible forms humanistic research can take when you have 2,700 covers, 400,000 pages, and 6 TB of data. Experiments include topic models, N-gram searches, and colormetric analysis.
Mining Goodreads: Literary Reception Studies at Scale
This project studies readers’ habits and experiences of literary consumption via computational analysis of online reader reviews in the massively popular Goodreads social reading site.
Fan Engagement Meter: Finding and Quantifying Text Reuse in Fan Fiction
The Fan Engagement Meter identifies lines of film dialogue that fans most like to repeat, rewrite, revise, and riff on. It looks for 6-word strings of dialogue in film scripts and compares them with 6-word strings of writing in the Archive of Our Own fan fiction repository.

Additional Resources

Found Poetry prompt Generator
Created using HT texts & LOC childrens book subject headings by Patrick William Humanites and Digital and Open Scholarhsip Lead Librarian at Syracuse University.
Early American Cookbook Project
This site and the Early American Cookbooks collection on HathiTrust are created by Gioia Stevens, Special Collections Cataloger, New York University Libraries. The project was completed in January 2017 as a capstone project for the Digital Humanities track of the Master of Liberal Studies program at the CUNY Graduate Center.
Text Mining in Python through the HTRC Feature Reader
We introduce a toolkit for working with the 13.6 million volume Extracted Features Dataset from the HathiTrust Research Center. You will learn how to peer at the words and trends of any book in the collection, while developing broadly useful Python data analysis skills.
Extracting Illustrated Pages from Digital Libraries with Python
Machine learning and API extensions by HathiTrust and Internet Archive are making it easier to extract page regions of visual interest from digitized volumes. This lesson shows how to efficiently extract those regions and, in doing so, prompt new, visual research questions.
The Data-Sitters’ HathiTrust Mistake
Blog post about the usage of HathiTrust in the Data Siiters' DH project
What is Distant Reading?
Chapter from the Data Notebook by Peace Ossom-Williamson and Kenton Rambsy about distant reading.