Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding
materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't
forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with
the staff member on duty for guidance.
Papers, 1882-1938, of Howard M. Chapin relating to his collection of books on dogs. Includes letters and booksellers' lists of books on dogs as well as correspondence, 1882-1883, of G. W. Ballantine concerning pointer dogs imported to the United States from England.
Collection contains genealogy of the Poulton Family, published stories, articles, book reviews, books, correspondence with family and friends and news clippings by and relating to John D. Weaver, author, novelist, biographer and West Coast editor of "Travel and Leisure Magazine". Includes correspondence about John and Jane’s difficulty getting her dog book published. Includes writings and published material by both Jane Poulton and John Weaver.
The Chapin-Horowitz Cynogetica Collection includes a variety of material in various formats. Includes Cigarette and advertising cards, 1929-1971, which consists of 6 sets of dog cigarette and advertising cards. Also includes numerous engravings, prints, watercolors, cartoons, and other images of dogs.
All material in the Jean Prendergast collection relates to the pug dog breed. Items include figurines, soft sculptures, chocolate molds, and a Meerschaum cigarette holder. Images of some of the artifacts are available via flickr.
Letters, chiefly 1862-1865, written by Nathaniel Venable Watkins to his wife Nancy Daniel Watkins. During the Civil War, Watkins served with Co. H, 4th Virginia Heavy Artillery, which became part of the 34th Virginia Infantry Regiment. Includes a rough sketch of a sickly dog named Yankee.
Letter (A.L.S.) written to "Katy" [Catherine Bammen], poem and resolution written about the death of a dog as well as magazine and newspaper clippings about Cleland's illustrations. Includes color illustration from Westvaco Mill.
The Manuscripts Artifact Collection includes artifacts from a variety of personal papers and organizational records collections, as well as items acquired individually. Includes ceramic ashtray cast in flattened shape of pug dog face. Also includes woodcut, wooden block used for printing. Block depicts a dog looking at a table.
This is an artificial collection of posters acquired by the University Archives. Includes "Pugs, People, and the Peter Chapin Collection of Books on Dogs," an exhibition sponsored by Special Collections in Swem Library, October 20-December 1, 1976.
This collection includes both processed series and unprocessed accessions of records created by the Earl Gregg Swem Library. Includes materials on the exhibit, Pugs, People and the Chapin Collection of books on dogs (1976).
Daybook, circa 1890s, of the Cleveland and Badminton Foxhounds of the United Kingdom. Includes descriptions of various hunts on which the dogs go, names and pedigrees of some of the dogs, accounts of money exchanged during hunts, and poems written about dogs.
Letters, 1926, written to the Dixie Hound Kennels of Herrick, Illinois. Both letters are inquiries about purchasing coondogs from the Dixie Hound Kennels, one sent from Pennsylvania and the other sent from Arkansas. Dixie Hound Kennels sent at least one dog out on a 10 day trial.
Printed document, 1761, from the Junta de Obras y Bosques, or the Construction and Forestry Board. Explains that, on 16 January 1761, hunting and fishing using greyhound dogs would be prohibited unless people first received a license from the Board.
Records and samples, circa 1910s-1930s, of the Batesville Printing Company of Batesville, Albemarle County, Virginia. Consists almost exclusively of samples of their printing jobs, like broadsides, stationary, envelopes, fliers, etc. Includes dog license card, pad of dog license slips, Albemarle Co., VA, 1921, white card stock advertisement for Batesville Printing Company dog and key tags.
Photo album, 1880-1942 of Colonel Fred Charles Doyle, circa 1885-1955. The album contains both formal photographs, like studio portraits and military group pictures, and snapshots of family and friends and of places where the Doyle family traveled and worked. Includes two copies of same photo, Indian trading post with Native Americans and dogs; one bearded man, possibly the suttler, one photo dim, one sharp. Also includes soldiers and Taylor women, along with dog, in front of quarters.
The Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection includes a variety of material in various formats. Includes set of 25 "Red Indian" Trading Cards, 1960, featuring Discovery of America, Origin of the Indians, Why "Red Indian", Weapons, Dogs, Land Transport, etc. (Also includes a card depicting Chinese males running from dogs: "What d'yer soy? Ha! Ha! John Chinaman He Eatie Dogie.")
71 photographs of people, buildings and grounds at the Civilian Conservation Corps camps in Petersburg, Virginia and Waverly, Virginia. The Petersburg Camp, a predominantly white camp, was Company 1364, and the Waverly Camp, a predominantly black camp, was Camp P-55, Company 376. Includes photographs of Company 1364, including Man with dog (4).
This ledger book was used to record dog racing competitions in Pennsylvania. Its dates span from 1895 to 1903. It has names, ages, colors, breeds and other information about the different dogs, as well as the names of owners.
Letters, 1944-1945, written by Carl M. Bunker, a private in the US Army during World War II, to his parents in Dayton, Ohio. One letter includes a segment about a dog which had been found at the front and adopted by Bunker's unit as a mascot. The dog spent most of his time with the mortar squad, so they named the dog "Mortar". Bunker relates that the dog had been starving, so they fed him on powdered milk, and he became the unit mascot. This segment about "Mortar" is long, touching, and quite funny. There are stories of how "Mortar" would stand formation with the platoon, and join them when they lined up for chow, and of how he would wake the men in their sleeping places on the ground in the morning. He would stand on the head of each man until the man got up, and would then move on to the next man. There is also a segment about an argument that arose on one occasion concerning whether or not the dog should be given a blanket of his own, blankets being in very short supply.
Papers collected by Earl Gregg Swem concerning the genealogies of his family and the family of his wife Lilia Hansbrough Swem. Includes photographic print, 3 1/2"x3 1/2", black and white, full length, front view of Earl Gregg Swem III, Earl Gregg Swem, Jr. and his wife Anne standing side by side, with "Lassie" the dog.
The collection includes various image formats documenting campus locales, people, and events including school activities, plays and musicals, organizations, athletics, homecoming, and other typical campus scenes. Includes photograph of Alumni--Hewitt, Natalie Diane, ca 1980's at registration with her seeing-eye dog, Lance.
The University Archives Artifact Collection is an artificial collection of artifacts and memorabilia documenting and related to the College of William and Mary. Includes one green stuffed dog with a gold tail, ears, and lower jaw. There is a tag on its neck that reads "Nutsy", which is a genuine Personality Pet from Collegiate Manufacturing Company in Ames, Iowa. Also includes one black and gold felt stuffed animal shaped like a dog that may have been used as a mascot for the Kappa Alpha Theta sorority.