German Studies

Biographical dictionary on deceased individuals who made significant contributions in sciences, economics and the humanities.

State Library of Bavaria with important digital collections.

Biographies and bibliographic information on thousands of Germans and other nationalities.

The Museum of Modern Literature collections include over 750,000 volumes from 1750 to the present.

Digital Archive Collections of the Leo Baeck Institute in New York, which will eventually contain all of the collections of the Institute on Central and Eastern European Jewry.

Search books and articles in bibliographies and fulltext databases.

Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion including Norse, Celtic, Greek and Roman mythology.

Millions of digitized photos from German cultural institutions.

German on the Web.

Founded by the German Cultural Foundation to promote German literature.

Links to language learning tools and dictionaries.

Online archive and teaching resource produced by the German Historical Museum in Berlin. It has a number of online teaching aids and other tools aimed at helping students.

Complete works of several authors as well as biographies including Schiller and von Goethe.

Free German literature from the oldest digital library.

Digitized German imprints from the 15th to the 19th Centuries.

Digitzation of 18th and 19th C. literary and scientific journals.

Largest fulltext online digital library in German language featuring more than 700 authors, cultural history, works of art, and lexicons.

Online reference works and grammar exercises.

German spelling guidelines.

The German equivalent of the OED (1854-1960).

Online German-English/English-German Dictionary

Online German-English/English/German Dictionary

Idiom translations.

Picture dictionary.

How to write a paper.