Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German Studies

Culture and Literature Resources

All Reference books are located in Swem on the west side of the first floor.

Highlighted books are also available electronically


Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon : Bio-bibliographischer Index Nach Berufen N40.A633 2002 (13 Vol.)

 

A Companion to German Literature : From 1500 to the Present PT236.S55 1997

 

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture  DD290.26.E53 1999


Encyclopedia of German Literature PT 91.E53 2000

 

Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature PT41.F46

 

German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation 1280-1580 PS129.D52 V.179

 

Historical Dictionary of German Theater PN 2657.G73 2006

 

Oxford Companion to German Literature PT41.G3 1997


Regions of Germany: A Reference Guide to History and Culture DD290.25.B87 2005

 

 

Language Reference Materials

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary: Unabridged PF3640.C64 2004


Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary : German-English, English-German PF3460.C69 2005

 

Concise Oxford German Dictionary

 

Der Grosse Wörterbuch der Deutschen Sprache PF3625.G75 (6 Vol.)

 

Langenscheidts Grosswörterbuch Deutsch als Fremdsprache PF3625.L36

 

Langenscheidt's New College German Dictionary PF3640. L244

 

Oxford Starter German Dictionary PF 3640.O96 1997


Practical Dictionary of German Usage PF3460.B35 1996

 

Sprachen der Welt : Ein weltweiter Index der Sprachfamilien, Einzelsprachen und Dialekte, Mit Angabe der Synonyma und Fremdsprachigen Äquivalente P371.K58 2001

 

Sprachgeschichte: ein Handbuch zur Geschichte der Deutschen Sprache und Ihrer Erforschung

 

Country Information

LC Call Numbers

History of Germany DD1-905


Germanic Languages PD 1-1211


German Language PF 3001-5999


German Literary History and Criticism PT 1-80


German Authors or Works PT 1501-2688