Research Guides: BIOL 150: Emerging Diseases: Database/Article Indexes

Database/Article Indexes

Database and Article Indexes, some with full text (Access to W&M students and faculty only)

Proquest databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Citations to journal articles, from the US National Library of Medicine. See also PubMed. Vendor: Proquest. Coverage: 1940-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Free database from the National Institutes of Health. Citations to biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, journal articles, and online books. See also Medline. Coverage: 1951-present.

General information:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.
CQ Researcher (includes CQ Global Researcher) This link opens in a new window
Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.