Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hispanic Studies

Online Dictionary

Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary

 
  English-Spanish

  Spanish-English

Selected Reference Titles

Links indicate electronic resources. Call numbers indicate works found on the first floor of Swem.


Dictionaries:

Diccionario de la Lengua Española: REF PC 4625 .A3 2001

Diccionario de uso del Español: REF PC 4625 .M6

The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Spanish-English Dictionary: REF PC 4629 .O94

Spanish-English Dictionary = Diccionario Español-Inglés: REF PC 4640 .S593 2006


Spanish Encyclopedias:

Enciclopedia Hispanica (18 vols.): REF AE 61 .E52 1992

Gran Enciclopedia Rialp (24 vols.): REF AE 61 .G75


Subject Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures: REF F 1406 .E515 2000

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (3 vols): REF: DP 233.5 .E63 1999

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003: REF PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2004

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (5 vols): REF F 1406 .E53 1996

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics: REF F 1410 .E66 2002

Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia (3 vols.): REF E 184 .S75 L35 2006

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (3 vols.): REF F 1218.6 .O95 2001

Pop Culture Latin America!: REF F 1414.2 .S495 2005


Research Guides:

Guide to Reference Works on the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature: REF PC 4071 .A1 W6 1997

Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources: REF F 1408 .A1 L3225 1992

A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language: REF PC 4071.A2 B55 1995


Literary Criticism:

Diccionario de Literatura Española e Hispanoamericana: REF PQ 6006 .D6 1993

Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninula: REF PN 849 .S6 D54 1993

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003: REF PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2004

Hispanic Literature Criticism (2 vols.): REF: PQ 6039 .H57 1994

Literary Cultures of Latin America (3 vols.): REF PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004

Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature: REF PQ 6006 .O95

Spanish Literature, 1500-1700: REF PQ 6064 .M67 1984


Country Information:

Background Notes

Spain: REF DP 48 .R87 1976

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean

Statistical Yearbook of the U.N.: REF HA 12.5.U63 2007

World Factbook