African-American Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center
This is a guide to manuscripts, books, periodicals, and other materials in the Special Collections Research Center that may be useful for researching or teaching about African Americans in the United States from the colonial period to the present.
This politician/elected official's papers include the Williamsburg voter registration poll books, segregated by race, 1902-1925, and various public school records reflecting the segregation of Williamsburg's schools, 1894-1924.
Includes College of William & Mary presidents Davis Young Paschall, Thomas A. Graves, Jr., and other presidents. These collections include correspondence and other material related to the integration of William & Mary's student body and faculty ranks, as well as relations with Williamsburg's African-American community.
1888-ongoing, this collection includes meeting minutes, programs, flyers, and other items commonly produced by student groups. Groups including the Black Student Organization, NAACP, historically black fraternities and sororities, as well as other organizations are represented. There are racist depictions of African Americans in the records of some other student organizations.
Journal from a Freedman's Bureau teacher in Norfolk and Fort Monroe area from October and November 1865, discussing his teaching experiences, attending church with freedmen, their religious activities, and more.
This huge family collection for the Skipwiths of Prestwould Farm includes many items about freedmen working for the family after the Civil War, including many labor contracts and accounts of work done and items supplied to the laborers.
In Department of Theater, Speech, and Dance Records, Acc 1996.028. Students interviewed many African-American Williamsburg residents in the 1990s about their memories of race relations in earlier years.
Includes the 2005 interviews from the "Stony the Road We Trod" project, which documents the history of African Americans at the College, and the ongoing Williamsburg Documentary Project, which includes many interviews relating to African Americans.
Labor periodical published by Hampton Normal and Agricultural College. Swem has bound volumes 1916-1939, call no. LC2701.S66 (earlier issues, with different titles, available on microform beginning in 1872), call no. LC2701.S66.
Southern School News/Southern Education Report
1954-1969. An excellent source for news about what was going on in the South state-by-state each month regarding desegregation. Call no. L11.S768 Folio and L11.S752.
This collection includes a wide variety of greeting cards, trade cards, games, and other items related to race, religion, and ethnicity. Note: Many of the items are extremely racist and contain offensive imagery.
This collection includes sheet music with African-American themes and images. Swem has additional sheet music collections.
'The Albert Durant collection : African American life in the 1940s and 1940s in Williamsburg, Virginia'
Daniel Frederick Hodapp. (Honors Thesis, 2003). In the SCRC book collection: LD6051 .W5m Amer.St., 2003, H63. Abstract: "The photographic works of Albert Durant represent a Williamsburg outside the realm of tri-cornered hats, restored buildings, and fifes and drums. It captures a thriving middle class African American community in Virginia during the 1940s and 1950s. The goal of this study is to understand the segregated lives of African Americans in Williamsburg during this period through the collection of photographs taken by a man on the periphery. It also places Durant, his photographic work, and the community he photographed into the larger context of the Civil Rights movement. Finally, this study will assess the meaning of the collection to the historical record."