African-American Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Richard Blow papers include a great deal of information on work of the enslaved. As a merchant, Blow also bought and sold supplies such as "Negro" clothing. His accounts relating to shipping from the Revolution through the War of 1812 also may have information on African Americans in the maritime trades.

The Blow family owned estates in Southampton and Sussex Counties. The papers include rich materials for the study of enslavement, including lists of those enslaved, medical treatment, and Nat Turner's Rebellion.

Negative photostats of papers, 1730-1817, of the Bray Associates, a division of the Society of the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, which was instrumental in providing libraries for the churches in America and setting up schools for the Christian education of those who are Black.

This list of persons enslaved by the College of William & Mary, circa 1780, includes the enslaved persons that were then at the College as well as those hired out. The list has been digitized. A transcription of this list is also available in the folder "Slaves owned by the College" in the University Archives Subject File Collection (UA 9).

The ledger of this Caroline County planter includes records of those enslaved.

In 1780 Henry leased enslaved individuals from Mr. Habersham during the American Revolution.

The Jerdone papers contain letters and financial accounts relating to enslavement throughout this period. Topics include enslaved persons' health, work, deaths, sale and hiring out, and resistance to enslavement. Other letters refer to Gabriel's Rebellion in 1800.

This King George County collection includes a letter, possibly from an enslaved driver, 1801, and several documents relating to those who ran away in an effort to escape enslavement.

This Elizabeth City County, Virginia, account book includes records of sale of enslaved persons.

This Virginia Quaker's letterbook includes correspondence with Anthony Benezet and others about abolition and enslavement, as well as a deed of manumission

The papers of this Virginia military officer include discussions of the Battle of Great Bridge, and of Lord Dunmore and his freed Black soldiers.

Records of a Norfolk minister and his family, including extensive records about leasing out those enslaved in late 1700s.

This huge family collection for the Skipwiths of Prestwould Farm includes many items about those enslaved by the family.