Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. Harvested metadata about sheet music in participating collections is hosted by UCLA Digital Library Program, which provides an access service via this metadata to sheet music records at the host libraries. Data providers have chosen to catalog their sheet music in different ways, but a large proportion of the original sheets in participating collections has been digitized, allowing users direct access to the music itself and in many cases covers and advertisements that offer evidence of the cultural context in which the songs were published. This project has been generously supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain - including a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music. The respective editors, arrangers and composers have chosen to make these works freely available.
Full Vocal Parts with Piano Accompaniment. The Bach Cantatas Website (BCW) is a comprehensive site covering all aspects of J.S. Bach's cantatas and his other vocal works. The BCW contains discussions and detailed discographies of each cantata and other vocal works, performers and general topics. The BCW also contains texts and translations, scores, music examples, articles and interviews, and over 5,900 short biographies of performers of Bach's vocal works and players of his keyboard and lute works, as well as of poets & composers associated with Bach.
A database of over 18,000 shows and productions dating from the 1690s to the present, containing more than 67,000 songs. These pieces come from all over the world and cover every conceivable topic, portraying the culture and history of their time and place in unique and valuable ways.
About this Collection
Received through Copyright deposit, gifts, and purchase, Library of Congress musical theater holdings range from rare opera excerpts of the late 17th century, through the popular music boom of the 19th century, to US Copyright deposits from all over the world. Most of the music is written for voice and piano; a significant minority is instrumental.
Included in this database are hits and flops by famous Tin Pan Alley songwriters, as well as manuscript and published materials from amateur composers. Rare and special items include early operas; music published in newspapers; lead sheets and other unpublished formats of musical and film music; college and civic productions; and shows produced in Europe between the two World Wars. This dynamic form is still popular in the 21st century, and additions will be made to this page as relevant sheet music is acquired by the Library.
Please Note: It's Showtime! contains only pieces found under Library of Congress Classification of M1508. Therefore, it does not contain information about all of the theater music available either in the Performing Arts Encyclopedia or in the Library's collections.
The following sites represent digital archives containing scores and other research materials relating to specific composers.
Born in Russia around 1893 (the exact year and day are uncertain), Leo Ornstein was recognized as a prodigy at an early age. He studied at the St. Petersburg Conservatory under Alexander Glazounov but in 1907 was forced to flee with his family to America where he entered what would one day become the Juilliard School of Music. There he studied with Bertha Fiering Tapper in whose classes he met the influential Claire Reis. More significantly, he met Pauline Mallet-Prevost, herself a fine pianist, whom he would marry in 1918; she would become his lifelong collaborator, and musical scribe.
1896 - born on Dec. 1, in the town of Kazanluk, in the family of the industrialist Grouyu Petkov Stainov and Anka Stainova. This is where he spends his early childhood years, together with his two junior brothers, Zahari and Stoyan, and his sister Penka, the youngest child. The summers he passes in his grandfather’s farm in the village of Ovoshtnik.
1902 - at the age of 6, he accidentally injures one of his eyes. It begins suffering and gradually loses its strength. Soon afterwards the other eye begins ailing irreversibly. Eleven years old, Petko Stainov becomes blind with both eyes.
1906 - enrolls in the newly opened (1905) Institute for the Blind in Sofia.
1907 - while in the Institute, studies the flute with Dimitur Hadjigeorgiev and Nikola Stefanov, the violin with Schwertner, and harmony with Kraus.
1912 - begins studying the piano with Mila Buchvarova.
1913-1915 - studies the piano with Andrei Stoyanov and participates actively in the Institute’s choir and orchestra under the leadership of Mihail Shekerdjiev and Nikola Stefanov.
1915 - graduates from the Institute for the Blind. Succeeds in mastering the Braille system for the blind in both Bulgarian and German and later uses it throughout his entire life.
170 boxes of music manuscripts, original artwork, personal correspondence, financial and legal records, photographs, original sound recordings, videotapes, programs, press clippings and other items about jazz pianist Mary Lou Williams.