Research Guides: HIST 712: US Civil War Era Research Seminar HIST 712 (Spring 2025): Historiographic Material

Handbooks & Companions

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Military History This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and historiographic essays on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

Use Historiography as a subject heading to find historiographic works.

Use Historiograph* as a title keyword

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.

In the top box, as a SUBJECT TERM, use the term: historiograph*

In the second box, type your topic (ex Women AND Education)

To narrow your results, limit publication date to the last ~20 years.

Limiting the results to books and ebooks:

** I strongly suggest using WorldCat **

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

Recent Dissertations will have lengthy historiographic essays on your topic.

These are often cut when a dissertation is published as a monograph. These cut lit reviews can be an excellent historiographic resource.