Research Guides: HIST 131: History of Colonial Latin America to 1824 (Fall 2024): Finding Articles (Secondary Sources)

Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

write out your topic
identify key terms
consider alternatives
use boolean to create searches
revise based on results (Ex what terms do scholars use in the field? what are the subject headings?)

Topic: smuggling and trade in Latin America
smuggling, trade, Latin America
smugglers, illlegal trade, contraband, piracy
(smuggl* OR "illegal trade" OR contraband) AND (caribbean OR "latin america")
1. No need for "history" because we're in a history database
2. Results aren't bad.
Revise
1. (smuggl* OR "illegal trade" OR contraband) AND ("spanish colonies" OR hispaniola)
2. narrow on a specific country or region
  1. Brazil
  2. Mexico (limit to pre 1825)
  3. Haiti
  4. Caribbean pre 1825