Skip to Main Content
William & Mary Libraries
Research Guides
HIST 150: Memories and Historical Narratives in China (Fall 2023)
Why so many databases?
Search this Guide
Search
HIST 150: Memories and Historical Narratives in China (Fall 2023)
Introduction
Session Goals 10/10/23
Activity: Sources we Leave Behind
Library Services & Resources (Overview)
Subject Databases (and why we have them)
Why so many databases?
Searching With Boolean (AND OR NOT)
Secondary Sources
Finding Books and Chapters
Toggle Dropdown
Worldcat: Accessing books we don't own
Finding Articles
Toggle Dropdown
Ordering Articles we don't own (at no charge!)
Finding Reference Sources (Index, Encyclopedia, Directories)
Primary Sources Databases
Primary Sources in the Catalog
Activity!
Toggle Dropdown
Group 1
Group 2
Group 3
Group 4
Annotated Bibliographies
Toggle Dropdown
Analyzing, Summarizing, and Critiquing an Article
Analyzing, Summarizing, and Critiquing a Book
Citation
Toggle Dropdown
Zotero
Stuck or need help? No problem!
Compare the results of these databases
Subject Databases
women AND education AND china in Bibliography of Asian Studies
women AND education AND china in : Historical Abstracts
women AND education AND china in Humanities International Complete
Compared to other Databases
women AND education AND china in PRIMO
women AND education AND china in America: History and Life with Full Text
women AND education AND china in GoogleScholar
Questions
How do the results of each differ?
What is the strength/weakness of each?
How do the results reflect the disciplinary focus of the database?
NOTE TO SELF
Tell the class about the crazy donors.
<<
Previous:
Subject Databases (and why we have them)
Next:
Searching With Boolean (AND OR NOT) >>
