HIST 284: African History During Colonialism and Independence (Fall 2024)

African Traditional Religions in the 19^th century

Secondary Sources

1. African traditional religions ; 19th century
   1. Question: is this a book or article level topic?
2. Try the search: ("african religions" OR "african traditional religions") AND history
   1. For Books, we'll try ("african religions" OR "african traditional religions") AND history in the Catalog
   2. For articles, ("african religions" OR "african traditional religions") in Historical Abstracts
      1. I may try ("african religions" OR "african traditional religions") AND 19th in AntroPlus Or all the ebsco databases

Primary Sources

1. Keep the keywords basic. Africa* AND religion*
2. In the Catalog, I limited to publications before 1899 (note they will have a bias)
   1. It is probably better to look at specific religions, ex (Ifa OR vodum OR yoruba OR akan OR dogon OR bantu)
3. Look for references to primary sources in books like Aderibigbe, G., & Falola, T. (2023). The Palgrave handbook of African traditional religion. Palgrave Macmillan. or  Wiley-Blackwell companion to African religions by Elias Kifon Bongmba
   1. use these works to identify key texts and published collections of documents
4. Look in our history databases list for Africa and see which databases look related to the topic
5. Look for mentions of specific religions in the African Newspapers Databases, 1800-1922 (ex "African religion") 
6. Use online collections of historic documents collected by universities and archives
   1. Bellevue University 
   2. University of Pretoria 
   3. ATLA, particularly the African Religion (Internet Sacred Text Archive) collection
   4. Duquesne University