Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.
One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The Associated Press Images Collection contains millions of photos from 1826 to the present, that capture the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. More than 3,500 photos are added daily.
A history database through music; formerly American Song. Streaming audio with songs by and about all Americans (immigrants, children, enslaved persons, etc.), and about all aspects of the American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, oral histories, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.
Over 25 digital Library of Congress collections include, or are comprised of, film or video materials. The following selected list of moving image collections provide a good starting point for research. The newest collection—The National Screen Room—offers a broad range of historical and more current films on a wide variety of themes.
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
