Research Guides: HIST 150-03 Kashmir: Past, Present, Future (Fall 2023): Primary Source Databases

Overwhelming Choices

The William & Mary Libraries spend Millions of dollars on databases and e-resources. This is great, but also makes it easy to get overwhelmed and not know where to start. Our history databases are organized to help you find primary sources based on theme or document type (see below). For this class in particular, I will also be highlighting major databases of interest.

Unsure where to start? Try the library catalog!
By setting the Swem Library Catalog to only show publications before a specific date, you can use it to find primary sources on your topic. As an example, this link is get to only return materials published before 1900.

Single Most Important Tip for Primary Source Databases:

Keep it simple. Only use a few keywords at a time.

Some highlighted databases for this class (NOT exhaustive)

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new window
This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.
Times of India: Historical Newspapers 1838-2010 This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
India, Raj & Empire This link opens in a new window
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Over 100 Newspapers from India in the library catalog
The library catalog includes over 100 newspapers from India covering 1784-present
NOTE: westlaw newspapers can only be accessed from the law school library.
About 40 Newspapers from Pakistan in the library catalog
38 Newspapers from Pakistan in the library catalog covering 1881 to Present
NOTE: westlaw newspapers can only be accessed from the law school library.

Additional Newspapers, Mostly Current in Focus

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.