Research Guides: HIST 490C: American Revolution (Fall 2023): Advanced Searching

Using all the features in databases

Databases are countless specialized features, but they very between disciplines. For example, proximity searching varies between databases:

GALE databases use the style: n# or slave n100 convict
America's Historical Newspapers use NEAR# or Slave NEAR100 Convict
Most Proquest database use N/#
some EBSCO databases use N#
Some databases use ADJ#
A few databases, like Chronicling America, just use a specialized search box.

Once you find a database you know has useful recourses for your topic, read the documentation of the database to better understand it's unique features.

Examples

Activity: Compare advanced functions

In your groups, run a basic search for Women AND treason.
Based on the results, consider:

what types of materials are included in this database?
What unique search tools does this database offer?
What are strengths & weaknesses of the database?

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works and print matter about North, Central, and South America. Documents also cover the Caribbean and the Atlantic World. Coverage: 1500-1926.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. Access: Modules 1 - 5
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial; Calendars of State Papers, Domestic; the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; the Calendar of Close Rolls; and the official records of the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Coverage: 1500-1850, some earlier coverage. Access to premium content.