Research Guides: AFST 150: Black Speculative Arts & African Religious Imagination: Finding Works

Searching from the Libraries catalog, PRIMO, will get you started with finding literature for your research.

Pro search tips:

Searching for work by your author? In advanced search, search for their last name with the "Author/creator" field selected.
Searching for work about your author? In advanced search, search for their last name with the "Subject" field selected.
W&M Libraries contains a large percentage of ebooks, but don't let that stop you from looking for physical books, too! Browsing the library stacks in the section related to your topic can be a wonderful way to discover books on your topic that didn't come up in a catalog search.
- Here's how the shelving system works, borrowed from Kent State Libraries. Don't feel weird asking at the front desk for more help - it's what we're here for.

Finding Artwork

Try searching for your author's last name in the "Creator" field or looking for any of their famous works.

ArtStor (JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new window
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures. Provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other art reference titles. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.

Google Images
Searches the web for images. Subject sort feature. Use Tools>Usage Rights to retrieve only images labeled for reuse.

Try searching our Music databases, particularly streaming music collections like Music Online.

Music Online This link opens in a new window
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical, jazz, world, rock, pop, folk, etc. Music notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation & publisher information, libretti & synopses of operas, composer & artist biographies. Streaming access. Coverage: Varies by title.