Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 491C: The Great Crisis: International Politics, 1919-1941

Use this guide to locate scholarly articles, books, newspapers, government documents and other resources for topics on international politics during the interwar period.

Begin Your Research

Use the HIST 491C: The Great Crisis: International Politics, 1919-1941 guide to locate library databases, books, journals, and web sources to help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research papers.

  • Reference Resources: Use reference materials like encyclopedias to learn more about events, people, and other information. 
  • Newspapers: A selection of historical newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Times of London.
  • Primary Source Databases: Declassified documents, letters, memoranda, images, leaflets and other primary sources produced by the US, European powers, Japan and China.
  • Secondary Source Databases: Find scholarly articles and book reviews on your topic from library databases.
  • Open Digital Archives: Images, propaganda, maps, government reports, and other documents made freely available online from archives around the world.
  • Government Documents & Treaties: Government documents, including treaties, foreign policy and international agreements from the US, UK, French and German Foreign Offices. 
  • Help with Citing: Information on using Zotero for in-text citing and creating bibliographies.

Having Trouble?

If you're having any trouble finding what you're looking for, please make a research appointment with a research librarian, chat us, come up to the desk and ask a question, or send us an email. You're not alone - we are here to help you.