VIMS Summer Workshops: Marine Science and Oceanography Resources

"The ODIS "Catalogue of Sources" aims to be an online browsable and searchable catalogue of existing ocean related web-based sources/systems of data and information as well as products and services. It will also provide information on products and visualize the landscape (entities and their connections) of ocean data and information sources."

Data portal from the U.S. government.

"We are currently providing two approaches to enable searching NOAA's vast data holdings: the traditional NOAA Data Catalog for all data, and the new NOAA OneStop catalog which initially includes only the archived datasets but will eventually replace the traditional catalog."

"The World Ocean Database (WOD) is world's largest collection of uniformly formatted, quality controlled, publicly available ocean profile data. It is a powerful tool for oceanographic, climatic, and environmental research, and the end result of more than 20 years of coordinated efforts to incorporate data from institutions, agencies, individual researchers, and data recovery initiatives into a single database. WOD data spans from Captain Cook's 1772 voyage to the contemporary Argo period, making it a valuable resource for long term and historical ocean climate analysis. Original versions of the 20,000+ datasets in the WOD are available through the NCEI archives."

Ocean, marine, weather and climate data products from NCEI

"NASA data provide measurements on geophysical parameters that characterize the ocean, as well as those physical processes operating within Earth’s ocean and at its surface.

Data products include information about ocean processes including ocean circulation and surface winds, and heat exchange between the ocean and atmosphere, including sea surface temperature, sea surface salinity, and sea surface height. In addition, NASA data provide optical information that aids in assessing chlorophyll concentrations and turbidity and helps provide trends in global mean sea level."

"OBIS is a global open-access data and information clearing-house on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development."

"The Global Ocean Data Analysis Project (GLODAP) is a synthesis activity for ocean surface to bottom biogeochemical data collected through chemical analysis of water samples. Data for 13 core variables (salinity, oxygen, phosphate, nitrate, silicate, dissolved inorganic carbon, total alkalinity, pH, CFC-11, CFC-12, CFC-113, CCl4 and SF6) are subjected to primary and secondary quality control to identify outliers and correct for measurement biases.

GLODAP is publicly available, discoverable, and citable. GLODAP enables quantification of the ocean carbon sink, ocean acidification and evaluation of ocean biogeochemical models."

"The OECD Sustainable Ocean Economy database provides the international community with data and evidence to support decision-making, including on Sustainable Development Goal 14 to conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources."

"The Ocean+ Data Viewer offers users the opportunity to view and download a range of spatial datasets that are useful for informing decisions regarding the conservation, management and restoration of marine and coastal biodiversity. "

Data on all facets of U.S. offshore energy programs

Spatial data on all facets of U.S. offshore energy programs

"The OBPG serves as a Distributed Active Archive Center (DAAC) for satellite Ocean Biology (OB) data produced or collected under NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS), including those from historical missions and partner space organizations and is a member of the International Council for Science - World Data System (ICSU-WDS). This website thus serves as the primary data access portal to the NASA OB.DAAC."

"The Copernicus Marine Service (or Copernicus Marine Environment Monitoring Service) is the marine component of the Copernicus Programme of the European Union. It provides free, regular and systematic authoritative information on the state of the Blue (physical), White (sea ice) and Green (biogeochemical) ocean, on a global and regional scale. It is funded by the European Commission (EC) and implemented by Mercator Ocean International. It is designed to serve EU policies and International legal Commitments related to Ocean Governance, to cater for the needs of society at large for global ocean knowledge and to boost the Blue Economy across all maritime sectors by providing free-of-charge state-of-the-art ocean data and information."

Directory of marine and freshwater professionals

"[P]rovide publication, discovery and access to relevant and tested methods, from observation to application, as well as a foundation for increasing capacity. The Ocean Best Practice System supports the entire ocean community in sharing methods, developing best practices and capacity development in their use."

"The European Marine Observation and Data Network (EMODnet) is a network of organisations supported by the EU’s integrated maritime policy. These organisations work together to observe the sea, process the data according to international standards and make that information freely available as interoperable data layers and data products."

"SeaDataNet is a distributed Marine Data Infrastructure for the management of large and diverse sets of data deriving from in situ of the seas and oceans"