Research Guides: PHYS 150 The Physics of Music: Finding Articles

What is a Database?

What is a database?

The library databases contain journal articles and other scholarly information. Sometimes a database will contain the entire journal article, and sometimes it will only contain an abstract. Databases are searchable by subject, keyword, author, and more. They can be seen as the tool that you use to search and access scholarly publications, such as peer-reviewed journal articles.

Best Bets for PHYS 150

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.
IOPScience This link opens in a new window
Physics journals from IOP (Institute of Physics). IOPScience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. It embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

PHYS 150 The Physics of Music

Accessing Articles

Useful Popular Physics Magazines

What is a Database?

Best Bets for PHYS 150