Geology

Official national repository of domestic names information developed by the USGS in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN). The database contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United

A catalog to geologic and geoscience maps

Geologic and hydrologic information for the five provinces of Virginia; teaching resources; maps. Site designed and maintained by members of the Geology Department of the College of William & Mary.

Searches for lithologic and geochronologic unit names in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico

Produced by the University of California Museum of Paleontology, this site includes fossil images, and searches by state, province, region or museum collection. Links to resources for teachers and online open access publications.

A free version allows you to display and animate crystal features

Site developed and maintained by the Planetary and Space Science Centre,University of New Brunswick, Canada.
Search by Age, Diameter, or Name. Includes maps and reference lists.

Explore the world’s largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s surface. Find satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover datasets, digitized maps, and our Image Gallery collections.
Use the Get Data link to open Earth Explorer and GloVis.

Fully searchable collection of articles for educators, students, professionals and the public. Content is created, maintained, and governed by a community of experts via a specially adapted "wiki" with editing access restricted to experts vetted and appr

Link to digital collections, including maps, images and government documents from the Library of Virginia.

UK Geological Survey site provides data, images, and online map creation.

Access planetary images and maps and imagery and cartographic products from missions such as Apollo, Clementine, Galileo, Viking, Voyager and Mars Global Surveyor.

Natural Resources Conservation Service (formerly Soil Conservation Service) surveys along with U. S. Department of Agriculture and sometimes Virginia Tech and other partners. Soil surveys for all states and counties within each state.

Atlas for Alaska & the Arctic from 1850 to present

The Drought Risk Atlas provides pre-computed drought indices for more than 4,000 locations across the United States.

National Science Foundation and the Earth Science Literacy Initiative provide this concise primer on what all citizens should know about Earth Science.

Location, extent and geologic and hydrologic characteristics of important U.S. aquifers.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists' archive

Princeton Library guide to researching natural hazards

The International Disasters Database

Includes information on cold regions from 1900 to the present, including references from the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, Antarctic Bibliography and the USPA Permafrost ALert program

"The Scientific Ocean Drilling Bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 publication records related to Deep Sea Drilling Project (DSDP), Ocean Drilling Program (ODP), Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, and International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) research spanning from 1969 to the present."

Includes fun links on geology for kids.

The largest mineral database and mineralogical reference website on the internet; includes blogs by users and links to mineral dealers.

"MINABS Online provides a unique research tool for researchers working in the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy, and related topics. The database – which contains more than 120,000 abstracts of papers published between 1982 and 2008 – originated from the paper journal Mineralogical Abstracts, a publication of the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland. No new abstracts were added to the database after 2008.

MINABS Online was first published on the Internet in 2003 and is provided free of charge as a service of the Mineralogical Society. The abstracts are also included in the GeoRef database."

USGS National Minerals Information Center - key resource for geological and mineral informaiton. See their publications at https://www.usgs.gov/centers/national-minerals-information-center/publications

Descriptions, images, and crystallography for more than 4,000 minerals. Includes audio for mineral names.

Publishes American Mineralogost (which we subscribe to via GeoScienceWorld) and mineral-related links on website provide links to datbases like AM Crystal Structure Database and other mineralogy and petrology resources

Annual review of minerals industry of the U.S. and foreign countries

"The Mineralogical & Geological Museum at Harvard University (MGMH) is committed to the development and preservation of world-class collections of minerals, rocks, ores, meteorites and gems for research, education, and public display."

"The USGS Mineral Resources Program (MRP) delivers unbiased science and information to increase understanding of ore formation, undiscovered mineral resource potential, production, consumption, and how minerals interact with the environment. MRP supports data collection and research on a wide variety of non-fuel mineral resources that are important to the Nation’s economic and national security."

"The Critical Minerals Mapping Initiative (CMMI) Portal is a free interactive mapping tool designed to share outputs from the geoscientific collaboration between Geoscience Australia (GA), the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) and the United States Geological Survey (USGS). Focused on building a diversified critical minerals industry in Australia, Canada, and the United States, the CMMI is developing a better understanding of:

known critical mineral resources.
geologic controls on critical mineral distribution for deposits currently producing by-products.
how to infer new sources of supply through critical mineral potential mapping and quantitative mineral assessments."

Integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals

USGS resources - Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global analysis.

"This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation."

"A comprehensive collection of published analyses of igneous and metamorphic rocks and minerals. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. Metadata include geospatial and other sample information, analytical details and references."

Includes Dodd Frank Conflict Materials reports

Includes Field Guides from the Geological Society of America and others

Database includes references to geologic field trip guidebooks primarily from 1940-date. Includes link to submit new guidebooks to the database.

The project aims to preserve web-based geoscience field trip guidebooks — which document local geologic information and are often ephemeral, and only available for a short time — found in the Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database for researchers and scholars within the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation and beyond.