Research Guides: GEOL 150: COLL of the Wild: Finding Books and Background Info

Finding Background Info

You can always try searching the William and Mary Libraries catalog and then narrow the Material Type to books, book chapters, or reference entries (this video is a refresher on searching the catalog; some of the details are different but the process remains the same). However, some of the specific background resources below may also be useful.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World is a scholarly publication that integrates content from several renowned ornithological resources, including Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, Birds of North America, Neotropical Birds, Bird Families of the World, and the Internet Bird Collection.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.
International Plant Names Index This link opens in a new window
IPNI is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

GEOL 150: COLL of the Wild

Selected Resouces

Finding Background Info

Search the W&M Libraries Catalog