Research Guides: Chemistry Guide: Books

Online Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Searchable full text of the current handbook, critically evaluated chemical and physical data, as well as structure drawing and searching. Coverage: Current edition.
Finding Physical Properties of Chemicals
Reviews free internet sources of significant physical property information.
MilliporeSigma
Aka Sigma-Aldrich. Browse by applications, products, and services or search by product names or numbers or CAS number.
Chemistry books from ebrary
Over 200 titles in full-text; search by Chemistry or sub-fields.
Chemistry books from EBSCO
Browse by subject: Sciences and refine by keywords or subjects. Includes multi-language interface. Create a free account for additional features like notes.
Concept Development Studies in Chemistry
On-line textbook for an Introductory General Chemistry course. Each module develops a central concept in Chemistry from experimental observations and inductive reasoning. This approach complements an interactive or active learning teaching approach.

Instructor: John S Hutchinson, Rice University

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new window
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.